UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ms Office 2003 Or Earlier Menu System In Access 2007 Or Later, Access 2010    
 
   
hafsarabic
post Oct 29 2017, 11:56 PM
Post#1



Posts: 122
Joined: 28-April 15



Hi,

I’ve got a database with accde extension. It’s menu and toolbar style is as like as Office 2003 or earlier version. A sample screenshot has been attached in the attachment. I’ve tried a lot to make my database like this without success. How can I do this?

Regards,
Abu Hafsa
Attached File(s)
Attached File  MS_Access_Interface.jpg ( 37.29K )Number of downloads: 34
 
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Oct 30 2017, 06:04 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,437
Joined: 30-June 11



There are addins you can buy that can do this, but seriously, after 11-12 years now, you are fighting a loosing battle. Embrace the ribbon and move on!

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 
hafsarabic
post Oct 30 2017, 06:09 AM
Post#3



Posts: 122
Joined: 28-April 15



This is to mention here that, if I create any custom toolbars or menu bars using previous versions, they appear in the Add-Ins tab.
Go to the top of the page
 
hafsarabic
post Oct 30 2017, 06:15 AM
Post#4



Posts: 122
Joined: 28-April 15



Daniel Pineault,
Thanks for your reply.

QUOTE
But seriously, after 11-12 years now, you are fighting a loosing battle. Embrace the ribbon and move on!


wink.gif

This system is more secure to hide the Navigation Pane permanently. Otherwise user can easily get access to Navigation Pane using "Privacy Options". Is there any way to hide the "Privacy options" option from the "File" menu?

Regards,
Abu Hafsa
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 30 2017, 06:19 AM
Post#5


UA Admin
Posts: 31,191
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


You can create a Custom Ribbon.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 30 2017, 06:33 AM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 31,191
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


You'll find a really outstanding tool for creating custom ribbons on Gunter Avenius site

Disable the Shift byPass Key.

Create a custom ribbon, compile your database as an accde.

That's about as good as you're going to get.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
hafsarabic
post Oct 31 2017, 05:05 AM
Post#7



Posts: 122
Joined: 28-April 15



May be I could not explain the matter clearly. I want to disable or hide the "Privacy options" option from the file menu (please check the attached picture to get more information). Your above mentioned database can't do that. Is there any way please?

Regards,
Abu Hafsa
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Disable_or_hide_privacy_options.jpg ( 111.87K )Number of downloads: 5
 
Go to the top of the page
 
hafsarabic
post Oct 31 2017, 05:33 AM
Post#8



Posts: 122
Joined: 28-April 15



I've got a solution from the following post http://www.UtterAccess.com/forum/hide-priv...s-t1993995.html . It hides "Privacy Options" from the the File menu. But I can still access the Options dialog box using "Customize the Ribbon" option by right clicking on the tab. How can I completely disable that too?

Regards,
Abu Hafsa
Attached File(s)
Attached File  MS_Access_Interface.jpg ( 108.23K )Number of downloads: 8
 
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 31 2017, 07:20 AM
Post#9


UA Admin
Posts: 31,191
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


You can compile the application into an accde and only give users the Runtime to use it.

But seriously, why are you going to this length?

Are you afraid users might somehow abuse the application?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
hafsarabic
post Oct 31 2017, 12:41 PM
Post#10



Posts: 122
Joined: 28-April 15



Hi George,

I've developed an application which will I distribute free of cost. It's most important processes are query based. By adding more features, I will develop a commercial version of this application. But its light version will always remain free. Most of its similar applications are online based and according to users view none of them are comparable with it. My application is offline based and have some online features e.g. SMS integration. I'm afraid some commercial developer may somehow abuse it.

Regards,
Abu Hafsa
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Oct 31 2017, 04:21 PM
Post#11


UA Admin
Posts: 31,191
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Ah, I see.

I think you'll need to release it as an accde, with no ribbon, or a custom ribbon. But you can't control whether people will run it under full Access, so it may be for naught.

Given the goal, I'd suggest searching previous discussions here on the topic of preparing a database for distribution to the public.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
hafsarabic
post Nov 1 2017, 02:03 AM
Post#12



Posts: 122
Joined: 28-April 15



Dear Sir,
Many Thanks for your valuable suggestions which will help me to secure my database.
Regards,
Abu Hafsa
Go to the top of the page
 
JonSmith
post Nov 1 2017, 03:24 AM
Post#13



Posts: 3,158
Joined: 19-October 10



The thing is dude most of us could probably get into the privacy optiond for the 'classic menu' database you link to if we wanted to.

You can pretty securely protect your code and forms by compiling but thats it, the rest can only discourage messing with the database.

You can use a custom ribbon to control what you see on the backstage too (the part with the privacy options) but again if you know how this is easy to bypass.
I wouldnt even be surprised if there is a keyboard shortcut to pull up that menu and I am unaware of any way to suppress that!

If you need more security or have concerns that someone will use your work then you must either use a different program or simply dont share it with the public and sell it with a licence
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Nov 1 2017, 05:20 AM
Post#14


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,437
Joined: 30-June 11



See https://www.devhut.net/2016/09/01/securing-...base-front-end/ it may offer a few tips.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    11th December 2017 - 06:13 AM