UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Link Table To Spreadsheet Error, Access 2003    
 
   
youngb
post Nov 2 2017, 06:59 AM
Post#1



Posts: 517
Joined: 2-September 03
From: Galway, Ireland


Hi,

I have a linked table connected to an excel spreadsheet that is now giving me the error: 'Unexpected error from external database driver(1).
see attached jpeg. I also get the same error when I try to export but I can get around it when I tick the box 'Save Formatted'.
This error has just started in the last two weeks so I think it may have something to do with an Office update.

Thanks in advance for any help suggestions.

Brian
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Database_Drive_Error.jpg ( 46.36K )Number of downloads: 1
 
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Nov 2 2017, 07:02 AM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 31,197
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


What happens when you delete the existing link and then relink to this xls file.

I see that you are still using Access 2003. Is it the case that you are also using Excel 2003?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
youngb
post Nov 2 2017, 07:25 AM
Post#3



Posts: 517
Joined: 2-September 03
From: Galway, Ireland


Hi,


yes I am indeed using 2003 in both Access and excel and when I try to do an new link table it gives me the message below
see attached jpeg.

Thanks for the prompt response
Brian
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Link_Spreadsheet_Error.jpg ( 23.6K )Number of downloads: 2
 
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Nov 2 2017, 07:37 AM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 31,197
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


That's pretty clear. The spreadsheet in question is either relocated, deleted or renamed.

Are you sure it's still there, with the same name?

Are you able to open it directly in Excel?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
youngb
post Nov 2 2017, 10:08 AM
Post#5



Posts: 517
Joined: 2-September 03
From: Galway, Ireland


Hi,

I can appreciate that is what it looks like but the file is there I can open the file directly no problem, have tested with a few different excel spread sheets.

Brian
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Nov 2 2017, 10:37 AM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 31,197
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Okay, so the next trouble-shooting step is to delete the link and then relink it. Did you do that yet?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
youngb
post Nov 2 2017, 01:28 PM
Post#7



Posts: 517
Joined: 2-September 03
From: Galway, Ireland


Hi George,

yes I did and it won't relink, give the same error message,
but the good news is that I have found a fix for the problem,
if I take the excel file which is already in 2003 format and with and an xls extension and re-save again as 2003 format with the same extension xls,
it solves the problem, I can then do a new link to the file, the problem start around a windows update,
don't know if there is any connection but that solution works.
hard one to figure out.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Brian
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Nov 2 2017, 01:46 PM
Post#8


UA Admin
Posts: 31,197
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


"...if I take the excel file which is already in 2003 format and with and an xls extension and re-save again as 2003 format with the same extension xls,
it solves the problem..."

File corruption is an unfortunate part of daily life, it seems.

Congratulations on resolving the problem.

Continued success with the project.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
youngb
post Nov 13 2017, 12:11 PM
Post#9



Posts: 517
Joined: 2-September 03
From: Galway, Ireland


Hi,

I am now getting the same error message when I do an export to any new excel spreadsheet for queries but don't get it when I do a report,
I also get the attached message when I try and do an export,
this is happening for all the Access applications on my pc and two others out of 20, I have done a re-install of Access Runtime 2003 and even tried Access Runtime 2010 and still get the problem,
so I am now at a loss as to what is causing the problem.

Brian
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    12th December 2017 - 06:37 PM