UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bad Data Corruption, Access 2003    

youngb
post Nov 10 2017, 09:30 AM
Post#1

Hi,

I have been using access now for about 20 years for a large range of application, and the amount of corrupt data and records would be rare,
and would be only one record in one table but recently I have had three cases of data corruption like I have never come across before, and just one more this morning,
The client is using Access 2003 runtime on Windows 7 for the last 5 years with no problems before this,
I was not able to attached the data file because they were too large over 50 mb, and the only way to reduce the size is too compact and repair.

This morning it was a case of data corruption of 66 records in one table see attached jpeg, and on this occasion I can't even do a 'Compact and Repair' even after I have remove the offending table.
Now I do have a back up from this morning, but my question is does anybody have any idea of what would cause that kind of corruption, in a backend data file,
The application has individual frontends on the C drive of each computer link back to a server which has been set up by a professional

In my experience the most common source of date file corruption is when some user stops the process in the middle of a write to the data by shutting down the pc or using 'Control Alt Delete' which can be repaired by a 'Compact and repair' the other source could be the 'Net Work' connection but it is really hard to figure what would cause this kind of large scale corruption, on the previous occasion I have since done a compact and repair on the data and the users have re-entered the data the lost about 120 records but on this occasion I can't even do that.

Thanks in advance for any suggestion.

Brian
Attached File(s)