UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Debug Button Disabled, Access 2013    
 
   
kspaight
post Nov 20 2017, 11:59 AM
Post#1



Posts: 77
Joined: 18-January 03
From: Arlington, TX


I have an Access application (ACCDB) that I inherited and have been developing for several months.

Recently I have noticed that when I trigger a particular error and press <ctrl><break> to debug the code, the "Debug" button on the Microsoft Visual Basic ("Code execution has been interrupted") window is disabled.

The error that triggers the dialog is:
29054 - <> can't add, rename, or delete the control(s) you requested.
(I'm customizing a form on the fly - yeah, I know...not ideal...)

The first time that I encountered this situation seems to coincide with the installation of my new laptop, which is running Windows 10 and Office 2013 (15). The original dev work was done in Access 2010.

Other errors that I encounter I am able to trap and handle and step through, but I haven't found a way to re-enable debugging for this guy.

I have tried varying the "Error Trapping" options, but it does not appear to affect the end result.

Anybody have any wisdom that you care to share?

Thanks in advance for your assistance...

--------------------
Kevin

I suffer from C.D.O.
It's the same as O.C.D. but the letters are in alphabetical order...
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Nov 20 2017, 02:33 PM
Post#2



Posts: 404
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


QUOTE
The error that triggers the dialog is:
29054 - <> can't add, rename, or delete the control(s) you requested.
(I'm customizing a form on the fly - yeah, I know...not ideal...)

There are some situation where debugging is generally not possible.
If I remember correctly, adding controls at runtime is one of them. Can you check if your problem does only exist during some special operations such as these? If yes, you are out luck. The debugger just can't handle this. It's not related to your database then.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
kspaight
post Nov 21 2017, 03:42 PM
Post#3



Posts: 77
Joined: 18-January 03
From: Arlington, TX


That's not the answer I want...y'all go back and try again... wink.gif

So far, the only time that I've noticed the problem is when I am adding/deleting/modifying controls on a form.

I appreciate the response...I'm just very disappointed that there is not something simple that I'm overlooking.

--------------------
Kevin

I suffer from C.D.O.
It's the same as O.C.D. but the letters are in alphabetical order...
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    13th December 2017 - 07:26 PM