UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Query Calling VBA Function Extremely Slow - Please Help, Access 2016    

archie1_za
post Nov 28 2017, 08:10 AM
Post#1

Hi There

I would like to state upfront I am a newbie and total novice, so please excuse me if I dont totally make sense wary.gif

I have used the fNetWorkdays() & fAddWorkdays() found on the forums. They work well.

However when I run the query and try to view the results in datasheet view, the entire system/database literally just hangs. If I try to scroll to view results Access just hangs and I have to kill it and restart. It seems that the function is continuously running through every field in every record. I just have 10 test records and will eventually have over 7000 records. Any ideas as to how I can speed this up or how I can avoid this issue.

I have also attached a text file with a function similar to fNetWorkdays() & fAddWorkdays() that I have used and the result is the same.

Is my design really bad or even my SQL badly coded?

Any suggestions would be greatly welcomed. I am really stuck and dont know how to move forward. If needs be I am prepared to start from scratch again.

Thanking you in advance
P.S The DB is attached as well.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  DB.zip ( 1.45MB )Number of downloads: 8

Go to the top of the page

archie1_za
post Nov 29 2017, 12:53 AM
Post#2

No Assistance ?? confused.gif

projecttoday
post Nov 29 2017, 01:30 AM
Post#3

UtterAccess VIP

All I got when I tried to run that query is "Query is too Complex". I am using Access 2010.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website

archie1_za
post Nov 29 2017, 01:34 AM
Post#4

If that happens, which sometimes happened to me, I just removed the following from the query (or leave just the first line of the code below) :