UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V < 1 2  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Append A Record To The Same Table?, Access 2016    
 
   
River59
post Nov 29 2017, 12:38 PM
Post#21



Posts: 1,410
Joined: 7-April 10
From: Detroit, MI


Ron, do you know how to copy the record now? It seems we all got a bit sidetracked here. You may be making it more complicated than it needs to be.

Add the table that contains the record you want to copy to a query grid.
Highlight all of the fields and bring them down.
On the ID field, set the criteria to match the record selected on the form.
Make this an append query, and that is all you need.

This will copy the record you've chosen to the table with all of the same information but a new ID.

Attached File  CopyRec.PNG ( 25.72K )Number of downloads: 2


Now you can requery your form or whatever you next step is.

Any further question, let us know.
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Nov 29 2017, 12:52 PM
Post#22


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,272
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


My point is if you are using a standard Access form you can start a new record as you always would, click a button, and the desired values would be copied into the fields on the form from the existing record of your choice. You can then make changes if you need to and fill in any values unique to the new record. Then you move on to the next record or whatever. This eliminates any need for an explicit INSERT being executed.
Go to the top of the page
 
River59
post Nov 29 2017, 01:08 PM
Post#23



Posts: 1,410
Joined: 7-April 10
From: Detroit, MI


That is a good point, projecttoday. We really don't know what the OP is doing, so options of how to do different things should be helpful to him.
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V < 1 2


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st November 2018 - 12:58 PM