UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access 2016 Accde Running On 2013 Runtime, Access 2016    
 
   
tobyhanna
post Nov 29 2017, 09:37 AM
Post#1



Posts: 103
Joined: 7-February 06



Hello,

I have a client trying to use Access Runtime to view a database. I created this database with a FE and a BE, both saved as accde format. I am running Office 2016 (Access 2016). My client has Office 2016 (without Access). Installing Access Runtime 2016 causes problems with an office-click feature and I saw it is recommended to install Access Runtime 2013. However, when trying to open just the datafile (no VBA included), I get a security warning (expected), next the error "The database is in an unrecognized format" appears and then the error "The Visual Basic for Applications project in the database is corrupt" appears. I installed Access Runtime 2013 (32-bit) on my machine and now see the same error the client reports. I've searched and searched without finding a proper solution. I decompiled both the FE and the BE, compacted and repaired, recompiled, compacted and repaired again for both files and then saved as ACCDE and still receive the errors. Any suggestions on how to make this work would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Liesl
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Nov 29 2017, 09:52 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,437
Joined: 30-June 11



I wonder if you've been hit with http://www.devhut.net/2017/11/07/access-bu...access-runtime/ and simply need to update/revert your installation to fix the issue.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 
tobyhanna
post Nov 29 2017, 09:35 PM
Post#3



Posts: 103
Joined: 7-February 06



Daniel,

Thank you! That was it. I updated to a newer version of Office 2016 and the world was right again. That certainly explains why it worked a month ago and not now.

Thank you,
Liesl
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Nov 30 2017, 06:30 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,437
Joined: 30-June 11



thumbup.gif Glad it was a simple fix.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    11th December 2017 - 12:55 AM