UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Record Icon In Datasheet View, Access 2013    
 
   
Doug Galayda
post Nov 29 2017, 04:17 PM
Post#1



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


I migrated a access pop up screen (frm) from Access 2010 to Access 2013
(it was part of a .adp to .accdb migration)

I want to have the “new blank record” icon active on the migrated form at the bottom like it was in the old form,
so the user can create a new record.

SEE the yellow X in the screen shots.

It is right after the “last record” icon

The screen shot on the right is the old one, you can see the yellow icon,
The one on the left does not appear at all, (and therefore not active either)

I could not find a property setting to turn on the “new record” icon on the bottom of the toolbar.

On the old form(see right screen shot) , I can click on it and it puts the cursor into the new record
I would like it to work like this in the new screen (left screen shot)

Is there a way to turn it on?

Thanks!!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  NewRecordNotActive.PNG ( 13.72K )Number of downloads: 8
Attached File  NewRecordActiveOnOld.PNG ( 10.36K )Number of downloads: 5
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Steele
post Nov 29 2017, 04:26 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 21,498
Joined: 8-January 07
From: St. Catharines, ON (Canada)


Are you certain that the recordset of the form is updatable? You won't get the new record icon if the recordset can't be updated...

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Nov 29 2017, 04:46 PM
Post#3



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


Thanks
I don't know how to tell if a record set is updatable or not
( I am googling that now)

**here is the event/on load code below
**and below that is the screen shot is the select that populates the form.

Option Compare Database

Dim recordInserted As Boolean

Private Sub Form_Load()
Dim strSelect As String
Dim strInsert As String

Me.Caption = "Waiver History for Log # " & Me.OpenArgs
strSelect = "SELECT [NEW], [LOG], [DATED], [RECEIVED], [NOTES] FROM dbo_Waiver_Log WHERE LOG = '"
strSelect = strSelect + Me.OpenArgs + "'"
Me.RecordSource = strSelect
Me.Recordset.MoveLast

End Sub
Attached File(s)
Attached File  select_for_screen.PNG ( 10.1K )Number of downloads: 2
 
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Nov 29 2017, 04:48 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,848
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


...and check the Allow Additions property of the form as well, just in case. Make sure it is Yes.

HTH
Joe

--------------------
"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."
"You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing."

Rene Descartes 1596-1650 (Mathematician and Philosopher)
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Nov 29 2017, 05:44 PM
Post#5



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


Allow additions is = Yes thanks
Attached File(s)
Attached File  CheckAdditions.PNG ( 10.09K )Number of downloads: 1
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Nov 29 2017, 05:57 PM
Post#6



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


I checked through the list below
I will keep looking

http://www.fmsinc.com/microsoftaccess/quer...able/index.html
Reasons why a Query or Recordset is not Updateable

There are many reasons why your data may not be updateable. Some are pretty obvious:
•The query is a Totals query (uses GROUP BY) or Crosstab query (uses TRANSFORM), so the records aren't individual records
•The field is a calculated field, so it can't be edited
•You don't have permissions/rights to edit the table or database
•The query uses VBA functions or user defined functions and the database isn't enabled (trusted) to allow code to run

Some reasons are less obvious but can't be avoided:
•The table being modified is a linked table without a primary key.◦For certain backend databases (e.g. Microsoft SQL Server), Access/Jet requires the table to be keyed to make any changes. This makes sense since Access wants to issue a SQL query for modifications but can't uniquely identify the record.


Less obvious are these situations:
•Queries with some summary fields linked to individual records and the individual records still can't be edited
•Queries with multi-table joins that are not on key fields
•Union queries

The most obvious and annoying situations are queries on one table with totals (Group By, Sum, Count, Average, etc.) that aggregate multiple records. You wouldn’t expect to edit that since you are not viewing individual records. However, if any portion of your query contains a summary (GROUP BY) field, all the fields of the returned records are not editable (not just the summary fields).
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Nov 30 2017, 10:35 AM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,848
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi Doug: I think at this point we will need to get our hands on the db to see why this is happening, rather than just guessing. Usually, when we can see it happening and can trace the query back to sources, a solution (or at least a reason) becomes apparent.

If you could post a db with just the relevant objects and some test data, zipped, someone could look at it and see if we can help.

HTH
Joe

--------------------
"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."
"You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing."

Rene Descartes 1596-1650 (Mathematician and Philosopher)
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Steele
post Nov 30 2017, 11:05 AM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 21,498
Joined: 8-January 07
From: St. Catharines, ON (Canada)


Ordinarily I'd agree with you, Joe, but since the back end is in SQL Server, I'm not sure seeing the front end is going to be much help.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Nov 30 2017, 11:23 AM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,848
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


QUOTE
...but since the back end is in SQL Server...

Ah, I missed that.

Regards,
Joe

--------------------
"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."
"You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing."

Rene Descartes 1596-1650 (Mathematician and Philosopher)
Go to the top of the page
 
Minty
post Nov 30 2017, 12:45 PM
Post#10



Posts: 70
Joined: 5-July 16



This :
QUOTE
Some reasons are less obvious but can't be avoided:
•The table being modified is a linked table without a primary key.◦For certain backend databases (e.g. Microsoft SQL Server), Access/Jet requires the table to be keyed to make any changes. This makes sense since Access wants to issue a SQL query for modifications but can't uniquely identify the record.


When you linked the underlying table did it ask you to identify the primary key or choose the fields to indicate the unique records?
If it did the latter and you didn't choose it becomes read only.
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Nov 30 2017, 07:46 PM
Post#11



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


Sorry I just seen the last three posts from this morning by Joe, Doug and Minty, they suddenly populated.
--sorry about the late response but thanks very much for your suggestions.

My last try today was I took the select that was on the subform's data source line and made a query out of it
then I listed the query on the data/source in the subform's property data source.
It populated the subform the same, but did nothing to activate the new records icon on he bottom of the subform.

Joe, I will
__ strip out any unnecessary tables.
__make a local copy of the table that the form is based on.
__make sure the form populates with that table
__then post it as a zipped Front end file ASAP
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Steele
post Dec 1 2017, 08:27 AM
Post#12


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 21,498
Joined: 8-January 07
From: St. Catharines, ON (Canada)


Doug: before anything else, open the query that forms the recordset, and see whether you can make changes to the data.

Am I correct that your back end is in SQL Server? If so, do the table(s) in question all have primary keys defined?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Dec 1 2017, 01:36 PM
Post#13



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


Joe,

when I try to upload, it says "Uploading file"
then nothing.

=====================================================
**To get the [additional information] button and the [edit waiver] button to activate
(the top two of a four button cluster on lower right),
You have to put in 2017-337 log number,
then hit the Search button(upper center screen) to populate the form,
then they will activate.

**both sub forms populate, but the new record icon at the bottom does not function.
The “Additional info” and “Edit Waiver” buttons generate a pop up subforms
Both screens new record Icon (along the bottom of the subform) do not work
(It is almost invisible since it is not active, normally you can see a yellow asterisk shaped icon)
**both forms should populate in datasheet view, showing all their records at once.
**the host screen Permit Action uses table dbo_tblPermits
**the copies of the two linked tables are below, with their host screen linked copy table in the middle
**they will be at the top of the table list In the navigation panel on the left.
Xdbo_Add_Info
Xdbo_tblPermits
Xdbo_Waiver_Log
**I have not deleted the 2 linked tables yet, nor have I renamed them so the queries would pick them up.
**Also, you need to know the forms I am concerned with are the top of a four buttons cluster on the bottom right of the host screen, the two bottom buttons of the four are read only history screens)


#1)Additional Information” (no frm) screen is populated by a select in the ON LOAD event ====
**this form uses table dbo_Add_Info

Private Sub Form_Load()
Dim strSelect As String
insertComplete = False

Me.Caption = "Additional Information for Log # " & Me.OpenArgs
strLog = Me.OpenArgs
strSelect = "SELECT [LOG], [DATED],[RECEIVED], [EXPLANATION] FROM dbo_Add_Info WHERE LOG = '"
strSelect = strSelect + Me.OpenArgs + "'"
strSelect = strSelect + "ORDER BY [RECEIVED] DESC"

'recordCount = Me.recordset.recordCount
Me.RecordSource = strSelect
End Sub

#2)“Edit Waiver” is populated by a select in the record source property line.======
**this form uses table log dbo_Waiver_Log

SELECT [LOG], [NEW], [DATED], [RECEIVED], [NOTES] FROM dbo_Waiver_Log;
**it also has a “ON LOAD event: code is below
Option Compare Database
Dim recordInserted As Boolean

Private Sub Form_Load()
Dim strSelect As String
Dim strInsert As String

Me.Caption = "Waiver History for Log # " & Me.OpenArgs
strSelect = "SELECT [NEW], [LOG], [DATED], [RECEIVED], [NOTES] FROM dbo_Waiver_Log WHERE LOG = '"
strSelect = strSelect + Me.OpenArgs + "'"
Me.RecordSource = strSelect
Me.Recordset.MoveLast

End Sub
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Dec 1 2017, 01:54 PM
Post#14


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,848
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi Doug: Below the reply window in UA ...

Click on Choose File
in the dialog window that appears, find and click on the Zip file you want to attach and then click on Open
back below the reply window in UA the file name should show in the box next to Choose File
Click on Upload

..and that should do it ...

HTH
Joe

--------------------
"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."
"You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing."

Rene Descartes 1596-1650 (Mathematician and Philosopher)
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Dec 1 2017, 01:59 PM
Post#15



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


Yes, good idea, the host table and the tables that are not updateable in the screens
Do have a primary key. Thanks.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Primary_Key_Add_Info.PNG ( 8.87K )Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  Primary_Key_Waiver_Log.PNG ( 9.23K )Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Dec 1 2017, 02:13 PM
Post#16



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


In reply to RJD:

1.st I tried the reg .accdb file
And then I see the hourglass(rolling tire) for a while
Then I see another hourglass symbol except a lower.

Then I am left at the same screen where I started,
--with zero count(0) total in the current attachments window)
I will try to upload a simple small .txt file next just to test it.
thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Steele
post Dec 1 2017, 02:18 PM
Post#17


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 21,498
Joined: 8-January 07
From: St. Catharines, ON (Canada)


You must use a zip, not an accdb.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Dec 1 2017, 02:20 PM
Post#18



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


your right, I just seen the message, thank you.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Rule_on_upload_must_be_Zip.PNG ( 3.6K )Number of downloads: 1
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Galayda
post Dec 1 2017, 02:30 PM
Post#19



Posts: 239
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Springfield, Illinois


RJD, and Doug,
I finally got it to upload.
I uploaded the .zipped file
sorry about that
I appreciate all your help and patience a Great deal.
thank you.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  StateAppUpdate2017Zip__2_.zip ( 1.98MB )Number of downloads: 2
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Doug Steele
post Dec 1 2017, 02:45 PM
Post#20


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 21,498
Joined: 8-January 07
From: St. Catharines, ON (Canada)


Windows treats .zip files as folders in File Explorer.

I know that if you've encrypted the database, zipping it won't change its size, but AFAIK, encrypting is done by setting a database password, and you've mentioned nothing about that...

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
3 Pages V  1 2 3 >


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    17th December 2017 - 10:24 PM