UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Total Of Subform Control On Main Form, Access 2016    
 
   
kgerlitz
post Dec 3 2017, 07:34 PM
Post#1



Posts: 305
Joined: 13-May 06
From: IA


For some reason I am have a devil of a time with the simpliest task. I have a subform [frmCaseExpenseSummarySub] that has a calculated control [AmountDueTotal]. This parts calculates and works fine. On the main form, I have a control [TotalExpenses] that should take the value from the [AmountDueTotal] control of the subform. But I am getting an #Name? error. Below is the code in the control source of the [TotalExpenses] control on the main form.

=[frmCaseExpenseSummarySub].[AmountDueTotal]

--------------------
Totally, Completely, Utterly Confused
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 3 2017, 08:12 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,236
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Have you tried?

=frmCaseExpenseSummarySub.Form!AmountDueTotal

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
kgerlitz
post Dec 3 2017, 08:40 PM
Post#3



Posts: 305
Joined: 13-May 06
From: IA


Yep, tried that one as well. I have other portions of the database with nearly identical coding that are working well. Are there other parameters I might be overlooking? Curious if the #Name? Error message is telling as opposed to #Error

--------------------
Totally, Completely, Utterly Confused
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 4 2017, 12:31 AM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,236
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


I think #Name? usually means a spelling error.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
blndazeez
post Dec 4 2017, 05:46 AM
Post#5



Posts: 1
Joined: 4-December 17



Hi,
Have you tried

=[frmCaseExpenseSummarySub].[Form]![AmountDueTotal]


Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 4 2017, 08:30 AM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 31,250
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


It could also be a reference to a non-existent control. Are you sure you've not renamed something along the way, and that you've copied the names accurately?

Also, there is a subform control and there is a form contained in that control. You need to use the name of the subform control here, especially if it differs from the name of the form it contains.
This post has been edited by GroverParkGeorge: Dec 4 2017, 08:31 AM

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    18th December 2017 - 09:47 AM