UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Form Button To Call VBA, Access 2016    

isimj
post Dec 11 2017, 05:31 AM
Post#1

Hi all

I am pretty new to Access and VBA. I have been trying to get a button to work in my database using Access 2016 but I think it has beaten me so I am looking for someone to give me the answer; I will learn from there.

The code I am using is below

Public Sub ExportExcel()
Dim reportname As String
Dim excelreportname As String
Dim theFilePath As String
reportname = "StockNumProvided"
excelreportname = "StockIssuedReport"
theFilePath = "C:\Users\" & Environ("UserName") & "\Desktop\"
theFilePath = theFilePath & excelreportname & "_" & Format(Date, "dd-mm-yyyy") & ".xlsx"
DoCmd.TransferSpreadsheet acExport, 10, reportname, theFilePath, True
MsgBox "You will find the Stock Issued Report saved on your desktop"
End Sub

I can make this run in the VBA editor but I cannot call it from a button on a form. I have tried Onclick "=ExportExcel()", a macro calling the module and trying [Event Procedure] but I can't get it to work.

Can someone help me?

Go to the top of the page

GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 11 2017, 06:59 AM
Post#2

UA Admin

Welcome to UtterAccess.

Am I right in thinking you put this line in the Property Sheet?

If so, you need to change this from a Sub to a Function. Only functions can be invoked here:

Attached File  CallfromPS.png ( 17.76K )Number of downloads: 45

Of course, you can also put embedded macros in the click events.
This post has been edited by GroverParkGeorge: Dec 11 2017, 07:00 AM

--------------------

doctor9
post Dec 11 2017, 09:37 AM
Post#3

UtterAccess Editor

isimj,

> I have tried Onclick "=ExportExcel()", a macro calling the module and trying [Event Procedure] but I can't get it to work.

An alternative to George's suggestion: