UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Data Macro Or VBA-SQL, Access 2013    

jyiyo
post Dec 12 2017, 07:45 AM
Post#1

Hi!

I am a newbie here. I have some experience with VBA, but Access have some data Macro that I think can do the job. Could you please help me with the following?

I have two tables in my Access database, their fields are exactly the same. One is called Uncheched (Preventive Maintenance that haven't been complete). The other one is called Checked (Preventive Maintenance done).

So what is needed is a way that when I check the individual record in table Unchecked, the now checked record, go to the table checked (automatically). I saw in Access something about "After Update" data Macro, however I don't know how to used. The other way that I know that it can be done is using VBA, I think I have an idea of how to do it, but I don't know how to run that automatically after I check the record.

I think the code that I can use can be something like that, but I know sure.

IF Me.Ischeck = True Then
DoCmd.RunSql "Insert into tblChecked"
DoCmd.RunSql "Delete From tblUnChecked where (EquipmentID = " & Me.EquipmentID & ");"
End IF

Any help will be very helpful,

Thank you!
Go to the top of the page

Doug Steele
post Dec 12 2017, 07:58 AM
Post#2

UtterAccess VIP

welcome2UA.gif

Data macros are associated with the table. That means the action(s) will occur whether or not the data is input via your front end code. That means it's far more reliable to use Data Macros than VBA code.

There's an introduction to the topic at Create a data macro.

--------------------

Larry Larsen
post Dec 12 2017, 08:04 AM
Post#3

UA Editor + Utterly Certified

Hi
welcome2UA.gif