UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Transmitting Function Keys, Access 2016    
 
   
arpirnat
post Dec 18 2017, 12:13 PM
Post#1



Posts: 107
Joined: 25-June 16



I have a bit of automation built in to our database which uses Reflection to transmit data to another program.
The issue I am having is that one of the specific windows requires an odd key stroke (F1 followed by e) to save and close.
Is there any work arounds to get the F1 key to transmit?

With Reflection
.Transmit "^Consult Service Tracking"
.Transmit Chr(13)
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 18 2017, 12:21 PM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 33,034
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Reflections? The elearning software?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 18 2017, 12:21 PM
Post#3


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,745
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Have you looked in here?

If it's not there, maybe consider using SendKeys?

Just a thought...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 18 2017, 12:23 PM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 33,034
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


How about the KeyCode constant?Attached File  keycodeconstant.jpg ( 122.57K )Number of downloads: 10

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
arpirnat
post Dec 18 2017, 12:39 PM
Post#5



Posts: 107
Joined: 25-June 16



I did try using vbKeyF1 and it transmits 112
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 18 2017, 12:47 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 33,034
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Is that not what you want?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
arpirnat
post Dec 18 2017, 01:08 PM
Post#7



Posts: 107
Joined: 25-June 16



If I manually type in the comment boxes I simply hit 'F1' and 'e' and it saves and exits. No text appears on the screen. The f1 simply enters to the menu of the Reflections window and e saves and exits. So kind of like hitting Ctr + s to save in word.
This post has been edited by arpirnat: Dec 18 2017, 01:45 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 18 2017, 05:51 PM
Post#8


UA Admin
Posts: 33,034
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Ah, so you need to send them both.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
arpirnat
post Dec 19 2017, 11:03 AM
Post#9



Posts: 107
Joined: 25-June 16



So in Reflection F1 is set to actually be PF1.
If I send the F1 per above it is just sending 112e to the terminal. I need it to actually proc the PF1 feature (which goes in to the menu) and then e to save and exit the text box. From all that I have read it seems not possible since ASCII code does not have function keys to use with transmitting, but still hopeful smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 19 2017, 11:17 AM
Post#10


UA Admin
Posts: 33,034
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Hm. That sounds like it's going to have to be handled on the terminal side. Can you find information in that link theDBguy gave you.

The last time I had to work with something like this was many years ago, but it seems like I recall it was possible to create a macro on the terminal side and execute that macro from VBA. Search their support site for details of what you can and can't do with their code.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
arpirnat
post Dec 26 2017, 04:04 PM
Post#11



Posts: 107
Joined: 25-June 16



I can create a macro on the terminal, I just need to figure out how to execute the macro from Access now smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Dec 26 2017, 06:31 PM
Post#12


UA Admin
Posts: 33,034
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


You could look at using the ShellExecute() API to run the target software, invoking this macro. Check their documentation to see if that is supported.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th July 2018 - 04:57 AM