UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Configure Table Field Value As Concatenate Of Other Fields, Access 2010    

Wardly
post Dec 21 2017, 08:18 PM
Post#1

Hey folks. Novice here.
I am building a database and wish for the PurchaseID text (field4) to represent the rows' associated date field2 and software_name text field3. I need a meaningful field to use as a reference in other tables of the database. I would like field4 to auto generate. [field3]&"-"&[field2]

I found instructions for what appears to work by creating a query, but I am looking for something dynamic. I didn't find a way to trigger the query to run upon every change to related fields and what I found frankly wasn't that elegant. What would you suggest? I will be happy to scrub the floors, I just need to be trained up a bit ;-)
Go to the top of the page

RJD
post Dec 21 2017, 08:40 PM
Post#2

UtterAccess VIP

welcome2UA.gif

Well, I think best practice in this case is to create this field in a query when you need it. This way it will always be dynamic and up-to-date. Do not store the concatenated field - just concatenate on need for whatever purpose. Something like ...

PurchaseID: [Software_Name] & "-" & Format([PurchaseDate],"yyyymmdd") ... Design View

[Software_Name] & "-" & Format([PurchaseDate],"yyyymmdd") As PurchaseID ... SQL View

Do note, however, that this will not likely be unique. If the same product is purchased on the same day, how will you differentiate?

You could make this unique by adding the record ID (you should have one, a primary key, say an autonumber called, for example, RecordID). ..

[Software_Name] & "-" & Format([PurchaseDate],"yyyymmdd") & "-" & Format([RecordID],"000")