UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Separate Strings In A Field Into Its Own Columns, Access 2010    
 
   
Angelicrj
post Dec 26 2017, 03:09 PM
Post#1



Posts: 270
Joined: 19-August 10



Hello, I need some assistance.

I have a field in a query and wanted to know if there is a way to split each string by a space and give its own column?

Example: Description fields shows "Automobile Filters"

Since the description field has two words, I would like to add two additional columns, one that shows "Automobile" and another that says "Filters"

thank you for your help.


--------------------
A Hawkins
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 26 2017, 03:13 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,721
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Just curious... Are you trying to parse a Name field into First and Last names? Otherwise, what exactly are you trying to accomplish?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Angelicrj
post Dec 26 2017, 03:26 PM
Post#3



Posts: 270
Joined: 19-August 10



No, I was trying to create look up columns based on the description field...not sure if this is the best way to do it.

I have a field that contains a description to a contract. I wanted all of the words in a contract to have its own column that the user can select as a keyword search.

On the form includes a datasheet subform that shows all of the forecasted items. Based on the keyword that the user selected, all of the forecasted items with populate that includes that same word.

This will make it easier to link the appropriate forecasted item to the contract.

--------------------
A Hawkins
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 26 2017, 03:42 PM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,721
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

If it's for a lookup, wouldn't you want them in separate rows rather than columns?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Angelicrj
post Dec 26 2017, 03:53 PM
Post#5



Posts: 270
Joined: 19-August 10



Would that be the easiest way?

--------------------
A Hawkins
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 26 2017, 04:45 PM
Post#6


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,721
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hmm, I wasn't necessarily going for the easiest way but more towards what was the "proper" way based on my understanding of what you're trying to accomplish.

Would you rather look up keywords from one column or multiple columns?

Just my 2 cents...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    17th July 2018 - 02:15 PM