UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Order Entry System - Android And Access, Access 2013    
 
   
AlanAnderson
post Jan 3 2018, 03:51 AM
Post#1



Posts: 1,313
Joined: 19-October 12
From: Blantyre, Malawi




Hi All,


HAPPY NEW YEAR


A potential client of mine requires the following:

1. An Order taking system to run on a Samsung Android Tablet. Pretty much vanilla except it needs to email the orders back to head office and needs some form of confirming that Head Office has actually received the order. It also needs the salesman to be able to see what orders have been fully, partially or not delivered. This info will come from the HO “Backend” Programme.
2. The Head Office Back End programme. Needs to receive the orders and provide the appropriate info to the Sales Manager, Production manager and Distribution Manager

I am capable of creating the Back End programme in Access but have no ideas at all about the Tablet programmes.

Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas please?

Kind Regards

Alan
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 3 2018, 08:57 AM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 33,786
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Access is a WINDOWS application, i.e. it requires a WINDOWS Operating System.

I doubt you'll be able to do anything with it on an ANDROID OS.

That said, you could probably go to some sort of browser-based interface to a Back End database.
Go to the top of the page
 
AlanAnderson
post Jan 3 2018, 10:45 AM
Post#3



Posts: 1,313
Joined: 19-October 12
From: Blantyre, Malawi




Hi George,

Sorry, I obviously wasn't clear enough.

I would create an order entry system (The Back End) in Access to run on the head office PC (Windows)

The client wants me to find/create an app that will run on android tablets whereby the sales team will enter orders etc.

That data will have to be sent back to HO and then the info will have to be imported into Access.

(Sounds very clumsy as I describe it)

Regards

Alan
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 3 2018, 11:31 AM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 33,786
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Well, it may not be the simplest, but that's kind of how it might have to work.

That said, you might be further ahead to use a different RDBMS for the back end. One that can be linked to from both the Access FE in your client's office and from a web app in a browser on the Android device.

For example, a SQL Azure database would be accessible to both. Or a hosted solution from another ISP.

That way the ETL part of the process can be avoided.

Also, consider whether you can find a way for the Android to run remote desktop software that would allow users to use a desktop in their network environment to use the Access FE there.
This post has been edited by GroverParkGeorge: Jan 3 2018, 11:34 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Jan 3 2018, 12:30 PM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 8,948
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi Alan: I have not used this from an Android device, but LogMeIn apparently makes an app for Android that should allow you to communicate with a remote computer and run an Access database (you could set up specialized FEs for each field person). Might be worth looking into. You'll need a LogMeIn license, and I do not know what that might cost.

I use LogMeIn to link to a client's office computer far away, and I support/modify/develop several of his Access applications that way, but I do it from a Windows machine.

Good luck in your search ...

HTH
Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
AlanAnderson
post Jan 3 2018, 12:45 PM
Post#6



Posts: 1,313
Joined: 19-October 12
From: Blantyre, Malawi


Thanks for the link George,

I will look into that

Regards

Alan
Go to the top of the page
 
AlanAnderson
post Jan 3 2018, 12:50 PM
Post#7



Posts: 1,313
Joined: 19-October 12
From: Blantyre, Malawi


Hi Joe,

I have used log me in before on PC to PC work and you are right. It does work well.
I never thought of that.

I will check it out,.

Thanks

Alan
Go to the top of the page
 
AlanAnderson
post Jan 3 2018, 12:59 PM
Post#8



Posts: 1,313
Joined: 19-October 12
From: Blantyre, Malawi


Hi Joe,

Log Me in costs a whopping $1749 per seat per year.

Nice idea but not practical for me.

Thanks for the input though

Alan
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Jan 3 2018, 01:00 PM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 8,948
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi Alan: Let us know what you find out about this. I expect more and more of us will want to use such devices/connections in the future, and your experience will add to our knowledge base. LogMeIn sounds promising, but the proof is in the doing. Your experiences will be helpful ...

Regards,
Joe

Ah. Just saw your last post. That's a large cost, depending on the situation. My client deals with that part (and uses it a lot, but costs me nothing from my end), so I never knew the cost. Too bad. It looked promising...
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Jan 3 2018, 01:07 PM
Post#10


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 8,948
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Don't know if this is helpful, but look HERE for remote processing from Android device.

HTH
Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jan 3 2018, 01:36 PM
Post#11


UA Admin
Posts: 33,786
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


That's steep. There are other tools, though, besides LogMeIn.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st October 2018 - 10:17 AM