UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mac Users?    

doctor9
post Jan 3 2018, 10:36 AM
Post#1

UtterAccess Editor

So, my new year's resolution is to try to learn how to create apps for the iPad/iPhone. This requires me to do something I've never done before... buy a Mac. <shudder>

I don't have a huge budget (~$700-$800), and I'm really just testing the waters, so I'm thinking of going with the mid-range Mac Mini as my purchase. I believe that should give me enough computing power without costing a ton. If raising my budget to $1,200 would give me a significant leap in computing power, my wife would be willing to help me out to the tune of $400 in exchange for installing Photoshop on the new Mac so she can use it to edit photos. (She's a professional photographer, and she used to use an iMac G4 back in the early 2000's, and she loved it for photo editing before it just got too old.)

I'm curious if there are any Mac users here that have opinions on this.

Dennis

--------------------
(;,;) Li'l Cthulu says: Please talk about what you're trying to do, as well as how you're doing it.
Changing your real table name to "Table1" and your real form name to "Form1" in your posts makes it more difficult to understand what's going on, not easier.
Guidelines for Posting Questions
Go to the top of the page

tbs
post Jan 4 2018, 09:12 AM
Post#2

Get yourself a nice iMac. You'll probably need to spend about $1300 or so. You'll have enough power not only for yourself, but for your wife's photo editing jobs.

If you want to save some money, you might find some deals on a mac-minis (or even iMacs) from Apple's refurnished/clearance shelf: click here.

TBS

cheekybuddha
post Jan 4 2018, 10:44 AM
Post#3

UtterAccess VIP

I'd hold off new hardware for a bit until new chips come out which mitigate Meltdown and Spectre.