UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
4 Pages V  1 2 3 > »   (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Data Entry, Access 2013    
 
   
msnarayanan
post Jan 21 2018, 09:05 AM
Post#1



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear all

i have two points for which i need forum's assistance:

1. data entries in form/subforms

at present, i have only one table to enter data in regard to debit and credit. i have to fill in two records for every single transactions -
for instance first record for debit entry - for travel expenses and the second record for cash and so on. apart from these i have to
fill in transaction date field also for each and every record. the above steps are tedious and time consuming.

instead, i tried to create two sub-forms one for debit and the other for credits. it works fine. the problem is that for some transactions
which involves cash, this has to be entered in both the sub-forms. (i avoid using (-) sign in the debit sub-form similarly in the credit form.
your assistance is needed how to get the adjusted figure in the report. (total in debit 1000 - total in credit 700 = nett balance 300)

2, settubg default date;

as of now in both the above methods, i have to enter date atleast twice for every transactions. i am updating/entering data one a week.
about 50 records per day on an average are to be entered. the forms have default date () today. instead i want to make flexible setup
of dates so that after completing entering 1st day transactions, i change the date so that another 50 records are filled up with the
dates automatically. please hep me as how i can do this.

thanks in advance

m s narayanan

Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 21 2018, 09:46 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


1. This was discussed recently. I'll see if I can find the thread.
2. I suggest putting a date field in either the launching form or the header section of the form. In the before update event of the form copy this date to the 2 fields where you want it.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 21 2018, 09:51 AM
Post#3


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


It is your thread! Didn't the solution I posted in thread #37 work? You never responded.

This is the thread.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 21 2018, 10:12 PM
Post#4



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear mr.robert crouser
I thank for your response. I did see the tread.
the method works fine to the extend finding out the
balance. but still unable to put the balance
in the report. all I want a report based on two
quiries after adjusting debit and credit for each
and every account heads.
hope I have made my point clear to you.

m s narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 21 2018, 10:59 PM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Form2 has the balance on the form. You should be able to use the same on a report. Not with "Form", of course. I think you just use Report instead of Form. Have a look at this.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 22 2018, 12:14 AM
Post#6



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear sir
thanks for your response. I looked at the link.
as a newbie, I am unable to follow the steps immediately
but will follow the steps as I understand and try to get
a positive result.
I shall get back to you on this subject sooner or later.

thanks

m s narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 24 2018, 01:05 AM
Post#7



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



Dear sir
For setting up default date, I tried the following steps:

I typed the date in unbound field as 01/04/2017.at
The header in the main form to which two subforms
Are added.
As I do not know how to copy this date in before
Update event, I typed the date there.
This step did not give the expecting result - date is not
Automatically updated in the subforms.

If it is not too much, I shall be obliged if you will please
Create a form for setting up default date and send it
To me.

Sorry for troubling you.

M S Narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 24 2018, 07:18 AM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Attached. This one only does new records. I'm not sure if that's what you want.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  UpdateFromHeader.zip ( 23.3K )Number of downloads: 7
 

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 24 2018, 08:03 AM
Post#9



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear sir

thanks for your kind reply with attachment.

i downloaded it and tried to study the steps you have followed.

i notice in the header of the form "Default Date"and Text box Ünbound".

for a trial, i entered text as 4/1/2017 and entered first name, etc.
but the date field has not been entered automatically.
even with the default date as 1/24/2018 the result is the same -
date field is not entered.

when i checked the form in design view, there is nothing
mentioned in "before update". any macro has to be inserted.
i do not know where did i go wrong.

Please assist me in this regard.

with thanks

m s narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 24 2018, 08:51 AM
Post#10


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Try entering a new record. The date in the header will appear in the entry date field. I decided to use the on current event instead of the before update event. I also check if it's a new record. It depends on what you want. If you want existing records updated with the date whenever displayed, you could remove "If Me.Newrecord Then". If you want existing records (and new records) update when the record is updated, you could use the before update event.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 24 2018, 10:38 AM
Post#11



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



Dear Mr Robert cruiser

Thanks for your reply.

I tried to enter new record after entering a revised default date but I find the date field is not updated. Instead I get a message saying that date is not in the list or something like that.

I am extremely feeling sorry for causing inconvenience to you.

Thanks if you could assist.

M S Narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 24 2018, 10:47 AM
Post#12


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Are you referring to the database which I posted?

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 24 2018, 11:19 AM
Post#13



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



Yes sir
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 24 2018, 11:37 AM
Post#14


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Open frmPersons. Click on >* at the bottom to create a new record. The Default Date in the header section of the form appears in entrydate. If you move off the record, that date is saved in the new record.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 25 2018, 01:50 AM
Post#15



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear rober crouser

as suggested by you, i opened the form and clicked to add new record. now i see the default date as 1/25/2018 - yesterday it was 1/24/2018.

i tried and added two new records but in the both records, the date field has not been populated.

for reference, i am attaching the file with the two records recently added (but without dates)

thanks

m s narayananAttached File  UpdateFromHeader.zip ( 23.57K )Number of downloads: 1
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 25 2018, 03:12 AM
Post#16


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


I downloaded the file you posted. I created two new records and in both cases the date was populated. You must have deleted those dates when you created the record.

Nonetheless the database I posted has a problem: it creates a record every time you move to a new record even if you don't type anything in one of the other fields. So I changed the date initialization to the on enter event of the date field. The modified database is attached.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  UpdateFromHeaderNew.zip ( 24.41K )Number of downloads: 20
 

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 25 2018, 04:00 AM
Post#17



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear sir

thanks for sending revised form.

but, i am sorry to state, even in the revised form the default date is not populated.

i have taken the following steps:

1. opened the form
2. opened the new record
3. amended the default date
4. went to create another new record

field is not filled automatically. i viewed the table without the date
the problem persists as before.
while entering the new record, should i type the default date?
or any other control to be entered?

this is for your kind information.

m s narayanan

Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 25 2018, 04:53 AM
Post#18


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


First, change the default date before you begin making your entries (unless you want the default date (today's date). You only have to do this once.

You have to tab to the entry date field for it to populate automatically. Make sure you tab to the entry date field. (You can also click on the entry date field.)

The way it is programmed now it only affects new records.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Jan 25 2018, 05:09 AM
Post#19



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



no luck sir.

i followed the steps suggested by you.

1. opened the form
2. altered the date as 1/20/2018
3. typed the names
4. clicked on the date field.

nothing populated.


thanks

m s narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Jan 25 2018, 05:42 AM
Post#20


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,703
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


1. opened the form
2. altered the date as 1/20/2018
2.5. open new record
3. typed the names
4. clicked on the date field.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
4 Pages V  1 2 3 > » 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    23rd June 2018 - 08:16 PM