UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
4 Pages V « < 2 3 4  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Data Entry, Access 2013    
 
   
msnarayanan
post Feb 7 2018, 02:02 AM
Post#61



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



Dear sir

May I request you please let me know the steps to do this.

I tried the following step which did not work:
Created a form and in the header a text box

Changed the name as header default date

In the default value I typed =if(IsDate([txtHeaderDefaultDaye]),
[txtdefaultdate],Null)

Saved the form

Then I created another form with the following fields

1. treated (this is the field to be populated with default date)
2. accthead
3 amount
4 remarks

Then attached it to the previous form as sub form

In the first form I entered the date 2/5/2018 and selected
New record.

It is not populating.

Thanks
M S Narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 7 2018, 07:20 AM
Post#62


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,707
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


I created a sample which is attached. Open form frmMain.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  accounts_2017_2018.zip ( 42.75K )Number of downloads: 6
 

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Feb 7 2018, 09:10 AM
Post#63



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear mr robert

thank you sir. It is now working as i wanted. your patience in helping me out is very much appreciated.
and i also thank mr.david in this respect. I am very sorry for having given you both some sort of trouble.
since i could not properly understand your comments/suggestions, too many postings were made.

thanks a million.

M S Narayanan

Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 7 2018, 09:30 AM
Post#64


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,707
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


thumbup.gif

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Feb 9 2018, 06:53 AM
Post#65



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear mr robert

as i have already mentioned, the form is working fine and am updating data for my project. i am using your revised db file for this purpose.

but out of curiosity, i will be much delighted to know the steps you followed to modify my earlier db forms.

i tried to create frmopenform but could not do it. is it to be done selecting form design and where to type the Open Form and how?
i also entered the relevant code in Ön Click

If it is no a "trade secret", please let me have the procedure i will have to follow to make it working.

Thanks

M S Narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 9 2018, 07:05 AM
Post#66


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,707
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


I'm using Access 2013.
For the database which I posted in post #62:

For the data update form:

Open the table.
Click on the Create tab.
Click on Form.

A new form is created. You can save it.

If you wanted to make the form manually, you would just go into form design view and create a data source for the form and then drag existing fields on the form from Add Existing Fields.

For the launching form:

Create a new form in design view. Add the date text box, formated with Short Date. Add a command button and put code in the on click event to open the other form.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Feb 10 2018, 08:21 PM
Post#67



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



Dear Mr Robert

Thank you very much.

M S Narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 10 2018, 10:36 PM
Post#68


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,707
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


yw.gif

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Feb 16 2018, 02:01 AM
Post#69



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear Mr Robert
I am very pleased to inform you, I am completed the project successfully with your kind help and guidance. Setting default date really saved time and energy. Thanks a lot.

As it is, default date has to be entered in both the subforms.
I wonder whether it will work if I put the main form header
And mention the default date in the subforms as
=If(IsDate([MainForm!Text]),,[MainForm!【Text0】,Null)

Best

M S Narayanan
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 16 2018, 08:26 AM
Post#70


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,707
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


Why do you need a subform? For data entry, use the launching form. You can have 1 for credits and 1 for debits.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
msnarayanan
post Feb 16 2018, 08:55 AM
Post#71



Posts: 275
Joined: 28-May 13



dear Mr Robert
Thanks for your response.

The main form which I wanted to create with two subforms
Such that it will be easier to enter data. If I have a common
Default date for the subforms, I wonder it would work.
If it works, I may be able to view the two forms and check the
Correctness of the amount fields (should be equal).

Thanks

M S NARAYANAN
Go to the top of the page
 
projecttoday
post Feb 16 2018, 09:55 AM
Post#72


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,707
Joined: 10-February 04
From: South Charleston, WV


But you seem to have trouble with the date in the header section. If putting the date on another form works, let's stick with that. Also, the default value seems to be a problem. So we use If Me.Newrecord code. So let's stick with getting the date from the launching form (frmMain). So you need to create a new version. Instead of frmMain/frmCredits make frmMain/frmDebitCredits.

--------------------
Robert Crouser

My company's website
Go to the top of the page
 
4 Pages V « < 2 3 4


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    25th June 2018 - 04:38 AM