UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Column Count, Access 2016    
 
   
Leshunter
post Feb 25 2018, 02:36 PM
Post#1



Posts: 4
Joined: 10-January 18



Hi All I'm relatively new to access So be kind to me. I have Access 2016 64-bit running on win 8 .1
I have an audit trail which works fine except for one annoying thing. Most of the records return the correct data i.e. the field name or the information in the field. BUT some records only return the record number, I am sure it is to do with Column count or Bound Column But cannot figure it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Kindest regards
Les Hunter
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Feb 25 2018, 02:54 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,273
Joined: 30-June 11



welcome2UA.gif

We'd need to see your code, sample of your database to properly review/test to be able to offer any help.


Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Feb 25 2018, 04:27 PM
Post#3


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 73,941
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Welcome to UtterAccess!
welcome2UA.gif

Did by any chance those problem fields happen to be lookup fields in the table?
Go to the top of the page
 
Leshunter
post Feb 25 2018, 05:08 PM
Post#4



Posts: 4
Joined: 10-January 18



Hi thanks for the response.
Yes they are lookup fields, however some return the correct values and some don't
If you could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.
Regards
LesHunter
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Feb 25 2018, 05:42 PM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,240
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


welcome2UA.gif

Hi Les: PMFJI, but you might look HERE for some information on why not to use Lookup fields in tables. That could be the cause of your difficulties.

Also, as Daniel suggested, you might post your db for us to look at and see where you might need some adjustments. Be sure not to include sensitive data, include just the relevant objects with enough example data to show the issue, and be sure to zip the file (2MB max size for attaching). And walk us through how to get to the situation you are trying to correct.

A solution is no doubt available, but we'll need more to help you.

HTH
Joe
Go to the top of the page
 
Leshunter
post Feb 26 2018, 02:36 AM
Post#6



Posts: 4
Joined: 10-January 18



Hi RJD.
Thank you for your input, i am very new to Access and am learning al the time. As a retiree I needed something to occupy my time during the winter months and though been around IT for much of my working days have never tried coding.
Therefore am very very green about all this.
I take onboard your comments and will research the options for my next project.
Agin thank you for your time to look at my post.
Kind regards
Les Hunter

I am using the Audit Trail by Martin Green from Http://www.fontstuff.com in its entirety.
Go to the top of the page
 
Leshunter
post Feb 26 2018, 05:32 AM
Post#7



Posts: 4
Joined: 10-January 18



Hi All,
Problem solved. I was looking at the wrong column, now sorted..
Thanks to all for your time and input.
Les Hunter
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Feb 26 2018, 05:39 AM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,273
Joined: 30-June 11



Glad to hear you got it sorted out. thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    14th December 2018 - 12:16 AM