UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Inventory Template: How Can I Display Photo Attachment In Report?, Access 2016    

access-newbie
post Feb 27 2018, 01:53 PM
Post#1

I am a total newbie to Access. I tried making the inventory for my furnished rental house in Microsoft Excel, but I wanted to be able to display photos of each item, and it was such a pain trying to get the photos to stay in the cells, and having to size the rows to be crazy huge to accommodate the pictures. Plus, I want to be able to easily generate different reports for Bedroom, Living Room, etc, or for different categories such as Linens, Housewares, Furniture, etc. After struggling with Excel for a few days, suddenly it hit me ... I need a DATABASE! And then I remembered I had Microsoft Access.

So I opened up Access 2016, and first thing I saw, they had pre-made templates ... one of them was for a database called "Assets Tracking," which is almost exactly what I needed. It's already set up with appropriate fields, and I saw the Reports menu allows me to generate nice clear reports with headings (no more fiddling with Excel columns and row sizes), and it quickly generates the report for any category breakdown that I want. Fantastic!

But I'm a total newbie, and I don't know how to do even the most rudimentary things. Like I'd like to change the names of some of the fields, and I don't know how. I did some searches online, and the videos don't seem to match up with what I'm seeing on my screen.