UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access Opens 2010 Not 2016, Access 2016    
 
   
M2C
post Mar 1 2018, 11:40 AM
Post#1



Posts: 664
Joined: 7-April 08
From: Dubai


Hi
I have both 2010 and 2016 versions of Access on my pc. If I go to an accdb file directly in a folder and try to open it tries to open the file in the 2010 version and not 2016. This is despite the properties of the accdb which are set to open the file in 2016. The only way I can open an accdb file in 2016 is to first open the 2016 Access app and then navigate to the file I want to open. Is this a bug?

Also is it advisable to uninstall the 2010 version

Cheers
Chris
Go to the top of the page
 
ranman256
post Mar 1 2018, 12:23 PM
Post#2



Posts: 883
Joined: 25-April 14



if you have both, then windows will open what it wants.
otherwise you must do Start, Access 2016, THEN open your file.
dbl-click wont work if you have different versions.

you could try setting the Association:
right click on the database,
open with,
check mark : ALWAYS OPEN USING THIS APP WITH THIS SELECTED FILE
select the version of Access.

that may remember your dbl-click option.
This post has been edited by ranman256: Mar 1 2018, 12:24 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Mar 1 2018, 01:08 PM
Post#3


UA Admin
Posts: 34,116
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


This is probably due to the fact that "Access 2010" is the application designated for the accdb file type.

Attached File  filetypeassociation.jpg ( 52.62K )Number of downloads: 0


Note that I keep VMs with different versions of Office so I don't have to deal with this problem. Also, it looks like Windows thinks I have two versions of Access 2016. I may have to dig into that myself.

You can pick the version you want and then tell Windows to always use that version.
Attached File  AlwaysUse.jpg ( 40.67K )Number of downloads: 0
Go to the top of the page
 
M2C
post Mar 1 2018, 01:34 PM
Post#4



Posts: 664
Joined: 7-April 08
From: Dubai


That's great advice thanks and now sorted
Go to the top of the page
 
M2C
post Mar 1 2018, 01:37 PM
Post#5



Posts: 664
Joined: 7-April 08
From: Dubai


Really appreciate this advice especially with the pics thanks. It seems to work now doing this but have no idea why it changed as it used to work. I too have two Access 2016 options and no idea why. Anyway just happy that it is now fixed.

Thanks again

Chris
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Mar 1 2018, 01:42 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 34,116
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


We're always happy to help.

Continued success with the project.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    14th December 2018 - 03:30 PM