Full Version: Click & Drag
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
MickH
While reviewing a database I have written with my wife for our budget, she asked if we could "Click & Drag" on data and move it to other fields on the form. This data was not only values such as dollar amounts but whole fields from one budget group to another.
Well as an experienced coder this had me stumped, I have never tried to do this before so has anyone else managed to copy the explorer feature of "Click & Drag" ?
TIA
Mick
strive4peace
You can't click and drag like that in Access, but you can highlight it, CTRL-C to copy, then click where you want it and CTRL-V to paste
MickH
Thanks Crystal,
I had a feeling you couldn't do it. I thought someone might have 'coded' a copy of it. I am aware of the 'ole copy & paste method thanks, she just wanted to do it in one step.
Cheers
strive4peace
don't blame her wink.gif
You're welcome and cheers back o!
cheekybuddha
Hi Mick and Crystal,
read this thread and thought it would be fun to try and hack a solution.
Oattach a small db with one form, and a couple of class modules.
The premise is very simple.
In the OnLoad of the form you add a new Class clsDragNDropForm.
Then add the controls to drag and drop from. You can specify whether a textbox is both draggable and droppable, or only either draggable or droppable.
The form needs a hidden label which will show the 'drag text' as it's being dragged.
This is a quick and dirty hack that could surely use some improvement. It only works for textboxes and only on the same form. I'm sure there is some far more efficient way to do this using API's.
I hope it gives you a start point if you fancy playing with it further.
hth,
d
cheekybuddha
ps.
only made this using unbound textboxes, so any issues/situations about whether a bound field can be changed or only be filled with a specific datatype will have to be handled.
d
strive4peace
Hi Cheecky,