Full Version: ControlTips not appearing
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
argeedblu
I am just beginning to design forms for my latest project. For some reason, control tips are not appearing when I move my mouse over controls that have control tip text.
Any idea why this may be?
Glenn
vtd
Command Buttons?
think there was some bug in A2000 that causes this behaviour.
IIRC, select the Control(s) that don't display the Control Tip Text and use the Menu Format / Bring to Front ... Save the Form and hopefully, the Control Tip Text will appear ...
argeedblu
Thanks for the suggestion Van. The control in question is actually a text box but I added a command button to the form to test the control tip apperance for command buttons as well. Even after bringing the command button (or text box) to front, the controltip still does not appear when I rest the mouse on the control.
did some reading on MSDN and it seems that the problem may also exist in Access 2003 as well. As one of the messages I found there suggested, I tried a cold boot, but still did not get the desired result.
Incidentally, built in control tips (for toolbar icons, for example) do work correctly.
My os is Win XP Pro SP2 with all security fixes up to date (just in case that might make a difference). I am wondering if it is possible that popup control may be getting in the way.
Glenn
vtd
Found a thread that has A2000 with the same problem and Help / Detect and Repair seemed to fix the problem if Bring to Front doesn't work.
See tinyURL link
argeedblu
Thanks, Van.
did a detect and repair on my Access installation but still no screentips on the control in question.
Glenn
vtd
Sorry, Glenn.
I am not sure what you can try next as I only had this problem once and Bring To Front fixed it for me.