Full Version: Changing sub-forms on the same form
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
carter1
Is it possible to change which subform is displayed by pressing a button, on the same form?

Each subform is based on a parameter query, so it needs to open the type-in-box as usual.

By the way, I'm a newbie and don't really understand VB. Directions would be helpful (e.g. found in tools->options etc)

My first post! Yay.
Edited by: carter1 on Thu Dec 29 15:11:35 EST 2005.
freakazeud
Hi,
welcome to UA forums.
I'm not exactly sure what your set up is like and why you want to do that, but may I suggest a tab control?
You can add all the different subforms on different tab pages in your tab control and then you can achieve what you want I think.
Maybe you can clarify a little more though about what you want to achieve and why.
HTH
Good luck
fkegley
Yes, that can be done, but it will require code.

Open the form in design view, if you haven't already put a command button on the form, cancel the wizard. Then right-click the command button and click properties in the list. Click the Event page, the On Click, the ... at the right end, the Code Builder choice, OK. The code window should open, and you should be in the right place to type:

Me.[NameOfSubformControl].[SourceObject] = "NameOfForm"

If the form is based on a parameter query, then that box should appear, type in the values, the subform control should then display the correct form and records.

EDIT: freakazeud's solution will be easier to implement
Edited by: fkegley on Thu Dec 29 15:16:50 EST 2005.
carter1
Hi.
Am building a library database search. It is like this:
http://norlink.norfolk.gov.uk/cgi-bin/vps2...ssion_no=829640
Im after the links like "author" and "title" to stay put, which is why I was thinking of subforms that change depending on which button you click.
What do you think?
freakazeud
Ah...ok!