Full Version: Aesthetics
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
CurlieQ1034
Anyone know of any ideas for form design. I'm a decent programmer, but have no creativity when it comes to designing a good looking form/database. acclaim.gif
JimCagle
I prefer the KISS method (Keep It Simple St****).
And functionality should always supercede "form".
CurlieQ1034
That's the method I use... but I still want a db that is "easy on the eyes".
dannyseager
scan the UI Design forum. you will get idea's there..
ScottGem
I preform function over form. I try to desing my forms to make then inutitive to the user. I'm not so concerned over "easy on the eye" other than to not have forms appear too busy (i.e. the use of tab controls). I porefer easy to use then easy on the eye.
JimCagle
Scott nailed it!!!
lso, beware contrasting colors. Purple text on a black background is not good.
Aquadevel
I 2nd Scott's comments.
The end -user wants functionality.
My 2 1/2 cents anayway.
Aqua
MtnGoat
Guess I'm the odd goat out then. Most of my users like interesting or relevant forms and often suggest their own screen designs/logos.
think there is some difference between data entry/management, where the emphasis should be on ease of use, and data output where a little more 'background noise' is okay. The 'corporate culture' also has a lot to do with it.
I've atttached some sample forms - org chart dashboard, report generator, data entry for the report generator (use design view as the lack of several record sources will prevent you from viewing the form directly), and my signature form (left in the background).
If Bill Gates didn't want us to be creative, he wouldn't have given us such a versatile tool.
DaisySara
Not always...the user may not be one of us IT nerds (:-), J/K), and not even care or understand too much about how it works...but would like to see something nice and perty...
MtnGoat