Full Version: I can't get acNewRec to work in a list box (using On Click) in a
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
slingblade01
This is driving me crazy.
First, I'm a novice at access and VBA.
I have a form "Athlete_Registration".
This form works great. I can edit old athletes from the table "Athlete"
using a listbox to find them quickly or add a new athlete. "AthleteID" is the primary key.
I have subform "Registration_Form".
The purpose of this subform is to allow me to input "AthleteID" and "EventID" (from event table) into "Registration_Table". "RegistrationID" is the primary key.
This subform only contains 3 objects(?) in it.
The First is a textbox with the athlete's name. This is showing me that the primary key "AthleteID" carried down to the subform properly. It always does.
The Third (I'll come back to the second) is a list box simply showing the last 5 events in "Registration_Table". I use "Registration _Query" to accomplish this.
The second object is where the trouble lies. I have a listbox of predetermined events. In the properties of that list box under On Click, I have:
DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, acSaveRecord, , acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, 5, , acMenuVer70
What I want to happen is for Registration_Table to autonumber a new record "RegistrationID" and record "AthleteID" and "EventID" in the same record.
If the athlete is new (no history in Registration_Table), it works perfectly.
If the athlete has a history in the Registration_Table, it edits the record by changing an old "EventID".
I did noticed that the record number at the bottom of the sub-form increases,
but nothing was recorded in that location.
If I add a New button ( DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec) outside of the listbox and click it before I click in the listbox, it works perfectly. I need to get rid of this extra step.
I thought the problem might have been with setfocus, so I tried this: