Full Version: Multiple Combo Boxes for same field for query ...
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
ceidre1970
I have a database to keep track of overtime. Via combo boxes, the form prompts the user for department, date range, and employee and returns the amount of overtime worked by that employee for that department in the given range. I'd like to put 5 combo boxes on the form and allow the user to select up to 5 employees, resulting in a report with each of the employees listed with their respective data. I have considered a multi-select list box, but since we have 300+ employees the ability to start typing a last name to find each employee seems a little more user-friendly. I am new to Access, and am unsure if what I'm proposing is the most feasible way to accomplish what I need. Thanks.
ScottGem
A multi-select listbox is more feasible. Especially if you are also filtering by dept and date range. You can then filter the listbox so it only shows employees from that department and who had overtime in that date range.
ceidre1970
In my form the user chooses department first, then date range, then the list box. Would the list box be filtered upon opening the form, or in an event? Thanks.
ScottGem
Do a search here for Cascading or synchronized combos. This is an oft discussed and standard tehcnique to filter a list based on a previous selection. It can be used with combo or list boxes.
ceidre1970