Full Version: Cascading Combo Boxes
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
TheCaptain1
Hello UA members
posted a thread awhile back about this and got some great input. However, i'm still at a loss of figuring this out. I've done this before and can't figure it out again. I've attached my sample DB for viewing. Take into consideration that i'm very new at this and any help is greatly appreciated.
On my form i have Commpany and Section. When i select say "Engineers" from the "company" combo box and move down to the "Section" combo box i want to be able to see only listed for "Engineers". Any input or advice on this and also on the structure of the DB? Thanks in advance from Iraq, U.S. Marines.
TheCaptain1
norie
I've downloaded the database and it seems to be doing what you want.
hat's the problem? Am I missing something?
TheCaptain1
The problem is that it list the exact same 'Sections' no matter what you choose in the "Company" combo box. Each company has their specific 'Sections'. Hope that makes sense. Thanks for your quick response.
heCaptain1
norie
Weird.
just downloaded the file again.
The first time it worked and now it doesn't.
Anyway, you probably want to look at Requery and the BeforeUpdate event.
TheCaptain1
Do i do the requery for both combo boxes? and if so, should i put them in the "On Enter" event and "beforeUpdate" event? Remember i'm very new to this. I"m following you so far though. thanks again for all your help.
heCaptain1
TheCaptain1
Hello UA Members,