Full Version: Easy Question on Forms and Filters, but Driving me Nuts
UtterAccess Discussion Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
subsound90
Hi,
bet this is the easy question in the world but it's driving me nuts. I'm very new to Access, and every time I look up the answer it's like "Oh, just do this", when I have no idea what they are refrencing!
What I am trying to do is build a form that comes up blank, and you can enter data from it into 1 table. Then you can search off any of the fields, with no errors coming from blank fields, and it comes up with all the records matching that filter/search without entering the data into the table you are conducting the search on. You can append then those records that come up, or hit new record and a blank sheet comes up.
If some one would upload, or point me to one, a quick database so I can see how this is done I would be so happy! This is driving me bananas and I bet it is so easy if I just saw it then I would smack myself in the head and feel dumb.
Aquadevel
Sub,
would suggest that you take a look at the sample database that comes with Access, NorthWind.
You can load it, look at 'how' the forms are <attached> to the tables and querys.
take it apart & even break it, sad.gif
good luck, sad.gif
Aqua
subsound90
I really appreciate the help, but it doesn't really do what I need to do.
It provides a good example of displaying forms, but you can't filter or search by what is put into the fields (save the drop down box), the forms all come up fully bound which means any data put into the fields is automatically entered into the table. I think the biggest thing I need is the filter by the fields in the form, then displays them into the fields on the form. I can do searches but it only displays the table form for the search criteria and then only from 1 field and not dynamically from any field.
granny
Just a thought, but can you just use an append query to attach the records you find in the search?
ranny
Aquadevel
SubSound,