Full Version: Simple doubt about subform
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
yahya263
Hi
I am very new to access. Therefore my doubt may appear silly. I have a data base where I use a form to update the data in the table. I use a combo box to move between the records. But I cannot add any new records in this case. Is there any way that I can update the existing records as well as add new records once I use a combo box?
Secondly, now I am using a sub form to add new record in the main form. When I click on any record in the main form through the combo box, I could see two records in the sub form. I think the second record appears by default. Is there any way to make some of the fields (which needs updating) in this default record as blank?
strive4peace
Hi Vahya,
ost likely the reason you cannot add records is because your form is based on more than one tabl;e and there is a parent/child relationship -- you cannot create a parent and a child at the same time, the parent must come first wink.gif
"now I am using a sub form to add new record in the main form"
no, that is the wrong approach. the main form should be based on just one table and if you want records in a related table, then a subform can be used.
Some rather basic use of relationships -- Mainform/Subform
http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/showflat...;Number=1551226
for more information on the basics of Access, read this:
Access Basics
http://www.utteraccess.com/forums/showflat...;Number=1220772
30-page Word document on that covers essentials in Access
yahya263
Hi Crystal,
Thank you for the reply.Please note that my form is based on just one table only. Also I can update all records which is already available in the table by scrolling it with the combo box (used foe the ID field). But my issue is when I want to add a new record which is not available in the table.
Therefore, I am using the sub form to update the records in the table which in turn will update the form also
strive4peace