Full Version: ADO syntax problem, doesn't make sense to me
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
valkster
Hello, everyone. I have a problem that has beggin me on the syntax of an ADO lookup. I am still learning, and I fnally got it to work but here is what I had to do. Originally, I had this code when a form opened. This is just the guts of the original code block I wrote:
s.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
rs.CursorType = adOpenDynamic
rs.Open "SELECT * from tblUsers"
SQLStmt = "[UserLogin1] = " & GBL_UserName
rs.Find SQLStmt

In the debug it failed when it hit the FIND segment...stating that "arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict".
Ogot it to work by doing this below (adding the extra single/double quotes around the GBL_UserName field).
rs.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
rs.CursorType = adOpenDynamic
rs.Open "SELECT * from tblUsers"
SQLStmt = "[UserLogin1] = " & "'" & GBL_Username & "'"
rs.Find SQLStmt

Can someone educate me why this is? I am learning ADO from a book, and the first lines of code I posted are from examples in the text. Any help would be appreciated.
Sincerely,
Mark
vtd
Your [UserLogin1] is a Text value so the explicit Text value you use to compare must be enclosed in the Text delimiter (single quote). If you check the result of the concatenation for SQLStmnt, say with GBL_UserName = "Mark", the first one gives:
UserLogin1]=Mark
which won't be accepted by ADO. The seocnd one gives the required criterion correctly as:
[UserLogin1]='Mark'
datAdrenaline
Because you are creating a literal string for the Find, so you need the single hash marks surrounding your literal text ...

Assume the column [UserLogin1] has a value of datAdrenline ...
With the method that errored out, Access would have resolved your code and Find like this:

CODE
SQLStmt =  "[UserLogin1] = " & GBL_UserName
QLStmt = "[UserLogin1] = datAdrenline"
rs.Find "[UserLogin1] = datAdrenline"