Full Version: SetValue
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
1victory
***I am a novice and do not know if this considered a proper design practice.***
Here is what I am trying to do. A calendar control selects a date. That date is then used as a Control Source in a text box, as the user needs to be able to view that date. A second text box next calculates a week-ending date, based upon that initial selection (i.e. 3-3-08 is selected on the calendar, and 3/9/08 is populated in the calculated control. These dates will not ever need to change as the weeks, for reporting purposes, are set in stone. What I need to do is capture the calculated week-ending date in a table. I thought perhaps using the SetValue option would work, using another text box, but I cannot seem to extract from the calculated control.
Any assistance is certainly appreciated. If this design is found to be reprehensible, please advise.
Thank you!
Sligo
I wouldn't go so far as to call it reprehensible, but storing a calculated field in a table is a common mistake amongst beginners. Do a search here in UtterAccess for something called "Database Normalization" and you'll find lots of stuff about database design and structure.
Here's what I don't understand. Why are you storing the date in the first place? Is this date being used as a filter for reports on existing data that is date-sensitive? For example, you want to list all invoices created between date 1 and date 2? If this is the case, when you select a date for reporting, it would never be stored in a table.
I hope this helps.
- Sligo
1victory
To answer your question, yes, basically othe users will be pulling those beginning dates and ending dates, the ending being the calculated date (beginning date + 6). Those dates will never change, and as such they need to be captured because they are the only criteria from whcih to extract the rest of the data.