Full Version: Query Problem, 2 Variables
UtterAccess Discussion Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Queries
DreamOn
im kinda new at this stuff so you might have to bare with me..

i have a database and im trying to create a query which will do the following...

here is some fields which will be in my query..

Team of Referrer - Drop Down Box in table
16/17 Yr Old - Yes/No Box in table
Insurance - Yes/No Box in table
Newletter - Yes/No Box in table

so i need to run a query which will search a certain referrer but for people who are only have a certain Yes/No Box ticked..

e.g. show all Carers (Team of Referrer) who are recieving Newsletter

i know that i need [Enter Referrer] for my Team of Referrer but im not sure how to set up so i can enter which Yes/No i am looking for..

if you need more explaination on what i mean just ask and ill try to help more..

Thanks

DreamOn
Doug Steele
Welcome to UtterAccess.

One approach would be to have them key in the name of the field they want to check, and then use something like the following as your Where clause:

WHERE (([16/17 Yr Old] = True) AND ([Enter Detail] = "16/17"))
OR (([Insurance] = True) AND ([Enter Detail] = "Insurance"))
OR (([Newsletter] = True) AND ([Enter Detail] = "Newsletter"))

To do this via the graphical query builder, you'd put

True AND ([Enter Detail] = "16/17")

as the criteria under the [16/17 Yr Old] field,

True AND ([Enter Detail] = "Insurance")

as the criteria under the [Insurance] field, and so on. Just make sure that you put exactly the same thing for [Enter Detail] in each place, or you'll get multiple prompts.
DreamOn
Thanks for the welcome, and thanks for the help.

im not sure where i have to put

WHERE (([16/17 Yr Old] = True) AND ([Enter Detail] = "16/17"))
OR (([Insurance] = True) AND ([Enter Detail] = "Insurance"))
OR (([Newsletter] = True) AND ([Enter Detail] = "Newsletter"))

but the rest of it i got.

ops nvm i got it now thanks for the help.