Full Version: Importing a large amount of data from Excel
UtterAccess Discussion Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Queries
pmarley2
Hi all,
I am completely new to Access and really don't know the first thing about it.
I have close to 200 spreadsheets in CSV format, each of which has 6965 rows and 34 columns of data. These 200 files are split up into six folders, name January thru June in particular directory.
I want to import everything into Access so that I can analyze all the data simulataneously. Is there a way to write a macro or something so that I can automate all of the imports? I want to combine all 200 excel sheets into one sheet in access, so that the first sheet is at the top, and the rest of the sheets are appended below the first sheet.
To give you a scope of how new I am to access, I tried copying one cell and pasting its contects to entire column, but I couldn't figure out how...

Thanks
rbianco
if the files are truly in csv format (with all of the data on the 1st sheet of the work book - csv files only permit data on the 1st tab when viewed in excel) and if all of the files are in the exact same format with the same fields in the same order...
When you can place all of these files in one directory folder, use your command prompt (or create a bat file) and copy all of the data into one massive csv using:
>MyDriveLetter:
>cd myfulldirectorypath\properly\entered
>copy *.csv mybig.csv
then you can link this one massive csv into your access database. the link table manager can assist with this
allieanne
I don't know how to write the macro, but I do a lot of csv importing.
On the toolbar, File-Get External Data- Import
And then follow the directions, make sure you specify the type of data you want it to be (ie a number as a number not text).
Import the first sheet as a new sheet, and then for each sheet after, you import to an "existing sheet".
Its not pretty, and 200 sheets will be long and tedious.
(from not an ACCESS expert at all)
rbianco