Full Version: Help with linking text box to a list box
UtterAccess Discussion Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
jebey2
I have looked at the already made posts about how to do this and it seems simple enough but for some reason I just can not get it to work for me. I think i am misunderstanding something that maybe can be clarified by someone. I am making a form for an inventory. I have a table called Inventory which contains InvNum and ItemName. On my form, i would like to create a listbox containing all of the InvNum and when i select one, it will populate the text box to show the ItemName associated with that InvNum. I have tried to make afterUpdate macros, but got lost kind of quick. I also tried to use a SELECT statement in the control source looking something like SELECT ItemName FROM Inventory WHERE InvNum = [List6].Value; (List6 being the Listbox containing all of the InvNum). This is my first time using access so i am sure i am messing up something simple. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Doug Steele
Have the RowSource of your list box contain not only the InvNum, but also the ItemName (even if you don't actually display the ItemName in the list box).

Use something like the following as the Event Procedure for the list box's AfterUpdate event:

CODE
Private Sub MyListBox_AfterUpdate()

Me!MyTextbox = Me!MyListbox.Column(1)

End Sub

(Note that the Column collection starts numbering at 0, so Column(1) refers to the value in the second column of the selected row)
jebey2