Full Version: Storing One Form Value In Multiple Forms/ Basic Db Design
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
jonaken
Hey Everyone,
I am quite new to access, so humor me if this is a crazy question.
I have a fledgling database that will be based on a number of existing paper forms. I am trying to figure out how to best split all of it into tables in Access 2007. The database handles patient information and uses an (existing) unique number to reference each patient. I was hoping to use that as a key field in a lot of different tables.
When a patient gets added to the database I am creating, things get more complicated. There is one main paper form (call it form 1) that gets filled out every year that the patient receives support and is the biggest and most complete form. Unfortunately, since the work is done in the field, there is not always time to fill out this form first. Sometimes, the patient receives support before that paper form is filled out. The support is managed with a different paper form (let's call it form 2).
This complexity leads me to the following: 3 tables and 2 forms... one baseline table (tblBaseline, let's say) that includes only the number code of the patient and his name and one each for paper form 1 (tbl1) and paper form 2 (tbl2). I would like to be able to have one access form that puts information into tblBaseline and into tbl1. The idea would be that you could mostly leave the tbl1 fields empty until that paper form was filled out, but you would at least get the essential information into the all-important tblBaseline. Ideally, the same form could be used to input more than one year's "form 1" while keeping the tblBaseline indexed.
In the case that we have "form 1" from the start, I would need to have my access form put at least the number code into tblBaseline as well as into tbl1. Is there some way to do that?