Full Version: Problems W VBA Syntax For Insert Into And Union Queries
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Queries
davidinsc
I'm an Access newbie who is trying to learn a few new tricks by expanding into VBA Programming. I've come across something that I think is pretty straightforward, but have been unable to fix.

I've created a submodule with a SQL Query that attempts to INSERT the records returned by a UNION ALL query into an empty table in my database.

I receive a "Run-time error '3075': Syntax error (missing operator) in query expression '[tblEligible_tmp].[ELIGIBLE] UNION ALL SELECT [tblEngagedCards_tmp].[DEPARTMENT]'.

I've copied the processed SQL code from the VBA Editor's Immediate window into Access 2013's SQL Design View to test the SQL language.

I get a similar error: "Syntax error (missing operator) in query express '[tblEligible_tmp].[ELIGIBLE] UNION ALL SELECT [tblEngagedCards_tmp].[DEPARTMENT]'.

When I simply remove the INSERT INTO line, the UNION query works just fine.

Here's the code, as entered in Design View SQL:

INSERT INTO
tblEligibleEngaged_tmp
SELECT
[tblEligible_tmp].[DEPARTMENT],
[tblEligible_tmp].[ELIGIBLE],
Count([tblEngagedCards_tmp].[CountOfCard ID]) AS ENGAGED
FROM
[tblEligible_tmp] LEFT JOIN [tblEngagedCards_tmp] ON [tblEligible_tmp].[DEPARTMENT] = [tblEngagedCards_tmp].[DEPARTMENT]
GROUP BY [tblEligible_tmp].[DEPARTMENT], [tblEligible_tmp].[ELIGIBLE]
UNION ALL
SELECT
[tblEngagedCards_tmp].[DEPARTMENT],
"0" AS ELIGIBLE,
Count([tblEngagedCards_tmp].EMP_ID) AS ENGAGED
FROM
[tblEngagedCards_tmp]
GROUP BY [tblEngagedCards_tmp].DEPARTMENT, "0" HAVING ((([tblEngagedCards_tmp].DEPARTMENT)="OTHER"));

Any suggestions?
projecttoday
INSERT doesn't support UNION queries, easily remedied by doing 2 separate queries.
davidinsc
Thanks for the quick response Robert.

Problem solved!