Full Version: Access 2010 Forms
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
Jrod7287
this is my first time creating a database.
its for a small business, and what id like to do is under each "customer contract", create a "NOTES" subform, with a button adding a new note, including date and time.
pretty much to keep track of service calls to each individual customer
im sure this is a pretty easy thing to to, but im stuck.
can someone help me please.
GroverParkGeorge
Welcome to UtterAccess.

First, while you've described in general terms your desired outcome, there's not enough detail present to do more than suggest some broad concepts to follow.

Before you begin to think about forms, you must design and create tables to hold your data.

You'll need at least the following tables:

Customers
Contracts
Service Calls
Employees
Notes

How many more tables you need, and what fields you need, will depend on knowing a lot more detail about the business.

We have some good articles here in our New Comers Reading List. Studying them will help you get started with your project.
Jrod7287
Hi! Thanks for replyiing. .we are a solar And electric company. We install solar panels for a client, and the database is pretty much used to keep track of each job we have during the install, inspection, and power-on process. I did create forms and tables for all our customers(address,#, type of roof, status of job) contract prices, our employees, their pay rate (eventually I'd like to add an expense report to keep up with the profit and loss per job) And I started making a table for the service calls for each customer. Some customers failed inspection, and require corrections, some have been completed but may have a leak, some haven't been installed yet. I have a note field on the contract page, but Its pretty much just a blank field on the table that I kind just type as I go.
Is that enough information? I'm sorry, I hope I didn't confuse you.
GroverParkGeorge