Full Version: Calling Command In Navigation Form Subform
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
PaulWood
I am new to Access' "Navigation Form" paradigm and am trying to execute a command button on a Navigation Form subform and can't figure out the right syntax. Here's some info that might help sort things out:

Navigation Form name: "Navigation form"
Navigation Form subform container: "SubformContainer"
Navigation Subforms:
  • SubForm1
  • SubForm2
  • SubForm3

Navigation Form Buttons:
  • NavBtnSubForm1 --> SubForm1
  • NavBtnSubForm2 --> SubForm2
  • NavBtnSubForm3 --> SubForm3

Here's the scenario:
I opened the Navigation Form and clicked on NavSubForm2 button which opened SubForm2.
Now, I need to open SubForm3 in a special way. There is a command button in SubForm2 that executes some preliminary code then opens SubForm3. That works OK when I click on the command button in SubForm2. HOWEVER, I want the user to be able to click NavSubForm3 button which, in turn, will execute the command button in SubForm2, which will open SubForm3. Note: SubForm2 is currently displayed in the Navigation Form.

In SubForm2, I have an "On Click" event procedure in which I am attempting to execute the following code, but can't get it to work.
Call Forms("Navigation Form").Controls("SubForm2").cmd_OpenSubForm3_Click
The Run-Time error "2465' (Microsoft Access can't find the field 'frm_Publication_Filter' referred to in your expression.) is returned

Thanks for your insight and help.
RJD
welcome2UA.gif

Hi Paul: Hard to know without seeing the setup and commands you are calling - but it sounds like it might be a syntax issue. When you call something referring to a subform you must use the following syntax...

Forms!MyMainForm!MySubform.Form! .... etc.