Full Version: Keyword Search In Multiple Tabs/pages
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
sommersgj
Hello all!

This is my first post, and I am a beginner with VBA, so I will try to be as clear as possible. I have built my first database and through the help of this forum, YouTube, and others, I have working IT trouble ticket DB that my coworkers are enjoying. However, I would like to add more advance features. Particularly, more robust search options.

On the dashboard of my application (the main form, 'frmMSLHub'), I have a three-tab window that displays a history of trouble tickets utilizing embedded continuous subforms (sfrmMSL_CurrentMonth, sfrmMSL_PreviousMonth, and sfrmTicketList). All subforms are populated by a queries, whose criteria directly apply to the purpose of the subform. In an unfiltered state they are identical just queried differently. Tab 1, or page 1, queries the current month, tab 2 queries the Previous, and tab 3 is a keyword search whose underlying query is unfiltered until the command button is triggered.

My issue is with the keyword search. It is a little clunky; the tab needs to be clicked to display the ticket list, then the user types the (wildcard) search criteria, and clicks a button to run the query. This piece works fine as I have multiple fields included that can return values.

So, here is my rub. What I would like happen is to include all three tabs/pages in the singular keyword search so no matter which tabbed is focused on I can return the desired criteria but within the parameters of the of the tab (keyword search in current month only return values from the current month, etc.).

I have included the code for the MSL Hub. The command button to execute the query is cmdSearch and the Tab Control is TabControl_1. I am eager to resolve this so hopefully somebody can help me out!

Joe

Option Compare Database
Option Explicit

Private Sub btnSearch_Click()
Dim SQL As String