Full Version: DateAdd function in controlsource of a bound field?
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
freakazeud
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie and have one small questions which has been bugging me with a project of mine.
Ocreated a database which tracks training of people and now I want a reminder pop up to appear when the refreshing course needs to be taken. I added a field called DateDue, which I want to populate with the calculation of the DateTaken field + 3 years. Plaing a little around I used the DateAdd function in the controlsource of DateDue with the following code ( =DateAdd("yyyy",3,[Date]) ). Ok now it calculates the day the refresher course needs to be taken. Now I want to have a pop up message when you start the database/ before the switchboard which counts the training entrees which need to be refreshed. So I wanted to add some kind of code to the on load event of my switchboard. The problem I have now is that if I want to add vb code to that event I will need to have the calculated refreshing course date (3 years later then the original taken date) in a table where the original taken date is in, too. So how do I bound the field which has the code in it's controlsource to the table which has column for that field, without loosing the calculation part. I tried all kind of expression in the control source, but nothing works and I either bound it to the collumn and it doesn't calculate the due date, or I don't bound it, but have the calculation for the due date?
I figured to be able to count the dates which are due I will need to have that due date field somehow in a table with the original date taken field, so that I could end up with something like this:
Private Sub Form_Load()
'On Load of the switchboard check Dates table for any completed Dates
Dim intStore As Integer
'Count of complete dates that are past the Expected Completion Date
intStore = DCount("[DateID]", "[tblDates]",
"[DateDue] <=Now() AND [Complete] =0")