Full Version: Problem with Subform
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
ghodder
Hi... I am trying to build a data entry form with a subform and I keep getting the error:
"The changes you are requesting would create duplicate values in the index, primary key or relationship. Change the data in the field or fields that contain duplicate data, remove the index or redefine the index to permit duplicate entries and try again."
The main form has several fields for claim information and its keys are... ***, and Claim#. The sub form has ***, and Claim number and then a field call Reason identifed.
I am trying to allow the user to select multiple reasons for flagging a claim, without duplicating records in the main table, or adding multiple fields such as reason 1, reason 2..... etc.
I have tried building table relationships, and have tried deleting relationships. It works the same in both instances. I am a novice at working in MsAccess (if you cannot tell)... so any help you can give me would be great.
Thanks,
Geo
ghodder
FYI... I built a very simple model of this to test the problem... and as long as the fields I am linking to in the main table are not primary keys... this works fine... i am getting the error due to the key definition.
quest4
Welcome to UA. Let's start at the botton and try working our way up. First in the relationships, is the referential integerty checked? How about the cascading Updates and deletes? Use the Tools Pull down mwnu select relationships, right mouse the link select edit, make sure all three checkboxes are checked. I will assume, which is always dangerous, you have a one-to-many relationship. Next open the main form and check the child / master links and make sure that they are correct. I noticed the use Claim#, I hope you aren't because # is a special character and can cause trouble. hth.
ghodder
Thanks for the welcome... and your response