Full Version: BlueSky
UtterAccess Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
BlueSky
Greetings from Columbus, Ohio.
Hello, everyone:I am new to VB. I am going to audit value on one unbound form. If value changes, use SQL Update query to update the value in the appropriate field of the table. So far, I got the following code. When I run it, it said variable not set. Could someone help me with this issue. I greatly appreciate your assistance.
Public Sub ChangeAM()
Dim ctlC As Control
Dim frmAT As Form
Dim strSQL As String
For each control
For Each ctlC In frm.Controls
If TypeOf ctlC Is TextBox Or TypeOf ctlC Is ComboBox Then
If ctlC.Value <> ctlC.OldValue Or IsNull(ctlC.OldValue) Then
If Not IsNull(ctlC.Value) Then
strSQL = "UPDATE tblAssociateMaster SET ctlC.Name = ctlC.Value WHERE " _
& "[PERNR] = '" & [Forms]![frmATInternal]![cmbAID] & "'"
Debug.Print strSQL
DoCmd.RunSQL strSQL
End If
End If
End If
Next ctlC
End Sub
Jack Cowley
Welcome to Utter Access Forums!
On unbound control does not have an OldValue. Bind your form and your code should work...
hth,
Jcak
BlueSky
Hi, Jack,
o glad to see your reply. Can you please me how should I bind my form? Right now, I run DAO recordset to do the insert , update issues. Because the form is not bound, I can't use Dirty funcion either. This quesion could be sound like stupid, but I am sorry, I really don't know. Thank you in advance!
Jack Cowley
No such thing as a stupid question... It may be easier to create a new form using the Wizard than it is to update the current one, though either will work. To update the current form select the table name from the dropdown list in the forms Record Source. Then go to each control and select the correct field for that control from the dropdown list in the Control Source. Now your form is bound and you should see each record as you navigate through the records. You can delete your DAO code to populate the form and update the table....
th,
Jack
BlueSky