Full Version: Checkbox Help
UtterAccess Discussion Forums > Microsoft® Access > Access Forms
DColey
I have an employee database that has three different types of employees (officials, contractors, transcriptionists) with a separate table and form for each type of employee. On my "Officials" form, I have a checkbox that I can check to let me know if an official is also on the transcriptionist list. My goal is to not have to type in all of the officials and contractors who are also transcriptionists all over again. I want to be able to check that box on the "officials" form and the contact information will automatically be copied to the "transcriptionist" form and table. I'm sure this can be done, but I'm kind of new at this and don't have a clue how to make it happen.......HELP!!
Thanks in advance.
dannyseager
You have a normalisation problem (your tables are not set up correctly...
The 3 types of employees belong in 1 table.
Jack Cowley
If the data is the same for all employees (and I assume it is) then you only want one table for employees and a related table that lists their type of employement(s).
blEmployees
EmployeeID (PK and auto)
LastName
FirstName
...etc...
tblPositionsLookup
PositionsID (PK and auto)
PositionName
tblEmployeePositions
EmployeePositions (PK and auto)
EmployeeID (FK)
PositionsID (FK)
hth,
Jack
Jack Cowley
Hiya Danny -
a beat me by minutes...
Jack
DColey
I'm not sure I explained my situation correctly....