UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V  1 2 >  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Runtime version of Split Database on one PC?    

JimFox
post Jul 21 2007, 09:50 PM
Post#1

Hello,
downloaded the runtime files today for Access 2007 and I have been able to successfully create a runtime of an unsplit version of my database, but when I split the database I am having trouble.
First of all, I have never done this before so I don't fully understand what I can and cannot do. I created a runtime of the front end and selected the backend as a file to be included by the installation. Well, this did not work. I get a runtime error and the database closes as soon as the database tries to access the backend...
I am now assuming that I can't have the front end as a runtime and use it to access the backend when it is not a runtime... Pretty silly of me I suppose to think I could do that. Anyway, I am now worried that I will not be able to have a runtime version of a split database running on the same PC. Is this correct? I don't want to have the backend on a server; the back end needs to be on the same PC as the front end for my purposes.
I read some instructions that someone posted here, that if I understood correctly is saying that you have to create a runtime of both the backend and front end, and install them on different computers. Does it absolutely have to be done this way? I really need this to work on the same computer.
Thank you!!!
JimFox
Go to the top of the page

freakazeud
post Jul 21 2007, 09:54 PM
Post#2

UtterAccess VIP

Hi,
Welcome to UA forums.