UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Next level of Programming    

Resacats
post Jan 3 2008, 05:51 PM
Post#1

Hello all,
I have been using access as a development tool for certain projects, but have come to the point where I and my company may need something a bit bigger and better. Access works great, but I have many remote users that can not access our shared drives as smoothly as we can in our office. So my thoughts were to moving to a .net front end and SQL/Access back end. I am not very familiar with all that but my company has put me on a mission, and I am an eager novice programmer.
Are there any suggestions on what my next steps may be. I am not completely sold on the .net/visual studio idea yet, so any and all help would be fantastic.
Please post if you need further information.
Thanks,
Go to the top of the page

niesz
post Jan 3 2008, 05:54 PM
Post#2

Utter A-fishin'-ado

You have a couple of options, ...

You can use a form of terminal services (Like MS Terminal Server or Citrix, etc)

or, you can create a true web front end for your DBs. (With ASP.NET, php, etc)

What turns you off of VS?

HiTechCoach
post Jan 4 2008, 01:55 AM
Post#3

UtterAccess VIP

If this is the real issue, then this should probably be address first. Depending on your how you remote users are accessing your network may be the actual issue. It could be a networking issue that even converting to a .net front end and SQL/Access back end may not solve.
ssuming that you have a good network (hardware/configuration) setup: