X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> how to use values of previous row in the current row for calculation, Office 2007    

anup
post Jul 4 2010, 04:43 PM
Post #1

hi,
this is my first post. I m using microsoft access 2007. I am a beginner.
I have one column which has dates.
in another column, i wish to calculate the difference between the date in current row and the date in previous row. how do i do that?
Oneed clues or ways to do it. rest i will figure it out.
thanks a bunch.
Go to the top of the page

+
John Vinson
post Jul 4 2010, 05:12 PM
Post #2

UtterAccess VIP

welcome2UA.gif
On Access table may look like a spreadsheet... but it isn't.
A table should be viewed as an unordered "heap" of records. There's no such thing as "the previous row" or "the next row", any more than there is a previous potato in a wheelbarrow full of potatoes <. If you want to find the maximum value of a Date/Time field in an already existing record in your table, you can use the DMax() function to look it up, together with the DateDiff function to calculate the difference (in any time unit from seconds to years) between them; e.g. in a calculated field in a Query you could use
DaysSinceLast: DateDiff("d", DMax("[MyDateField]", "[mytable]", "[MyDateField] <= #" & [MyDateField] & "#"), [MyDateField])
This uses the # delimiter to specify that the value is a date/time datatype, and looks up the largest existing date less than or equal to the date in this record ("previous date"). Not sure if that's exactly what you want!
Do note that you should not attempt to store this date difference in the table; like any other calculated field, it should be calculated as needed, not stored.

+
anup
post Jul 4 2010, 05:59 PM
Post #3

Hi john,
dont want to calculate the maximum value of date/time. i just want the differences.
let me explain more..