UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Errors With Shared Database, Access 2016    
 
   
ifetayo
post Oct 4 2019, 10:38 PM
Post#1



Posts: 76
Joined: 22-November 06



I am running MS 360 Build 12026.20264

I have a database housed on a server that I am sharing with the other computers in my office. It seems to be working on all devices accept one. I keep getting undefined format errors. All computers are running the same version of Access. All computers have the exact same settings. All tables are linked the same way. I have relinked the tables several times. Anyone know what could be causing this?
Go to the top of the page
 
RJD
post Oct 4 2019, 11:10 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 10,130
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Gulf South USA


Hi: Sounds like you have FE/BE arrangement with a FE on each computer, right? Have you checked references on the offending computer to see if one is Missing? That's where I might start ...

HTH
Joe

--------------------
"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."
"You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing."

Rene Descartes 1596-1650 (Mathematician and Philosopher)
Go to the top of the page
 
arnelgp
post Oct 4 2019, 11:49 PM
Post#3



Posts: 1,510
Joined: 2-April 09
From: somewhere out there...


if the fe was made from older version and the be is from newer version of msa, this will cause the "unrecognized database format".
there are additional msys tables in newer msa.

--------------------
Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.
Go to the top of the page
 
dmhzx
post Oct 5 2019, 02:13 AM
Post#4



Posts: 7,112
Joined: 22-December 10
From: England


Have you tried repairing office on the machine with the problem.
Or re-copying the FE to it?
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Oct 5 2019, 06:07 AM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,961
Joined: 30-June 11



I agree with Joe, this sounds like a reference issue.

What version of Access (including build no please) was the db created/developed with?
What version of Access (including build no please) was is the problematic device?
Does a Compact and Repair fix the issue?
Have you opened the database on the problematic device and tried running a Compile to see if any issues are flagged?
Have you validated the VBA references on the problematic device?


There is also a bug which relates to Windows 10, so if you have even a single computer accessing the db that is a Windows 10 machine you could be facing this bug, refer to http://www.devhut.net/2018/06/13/access-bu...ognized-format/ for all the details. It is well over a year old, so don't hold you breath for an update to address the issue any time soon, the only solution is the registry hack workaround.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
ifetayo
post Oct 5 2019, 02:27 PM
Post#6



Posts: 76
Joined: 22-November 06



Hi all, thanks so much for the quick responses. Sorry it took so long for me to get back in here. I figured out the issue. My database is very old and every time I install a version of office I forget to add the MSCAL files. I did that and now it is working fine. So sorry to have bothered you all, but thank you so much for getting back to me.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Oct 7 2019, 07:37 AM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,961
Joined: 30-June 11



Ditch that prehistoric control! There are many, many great alternatives that will not cause you all these headaches. See: http://www.devhut.net/2017/06/17/great-acc...endar-controls/

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
ifetayo
post Oct 14 2019, 08:09 PM
Post#8



Posts: 76
Joined: 22-November 06



I will look into these. I didn't even know what it was for. All I knew was it needed to be loaded in for my database to work. Thanks for the tip. Sorry it took so long for me to respond.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    14th November 2019 - 02:49 PM