UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linking Be's And Fe's / Shared And Unique Data Between Db´s, Access 2016    

lumaximo131
post Nov 27 2019, 11:43 AM
Post#1

Hello everyone!,

even though this is my first post here, Ive been visiting and learning alot from this community for a while now, so firstly i want to thank the community for all the content/discussions smile.gif. Secondly, let me know if this post wasnt supposed to be here or if the structure/question wasnt well explained, im still an Access rookie smile.gif.

Ive been developing a Access Database for a while and i have a question related to Linking FE to BE.

Here is some background on the Project:

The database is going to be used by different departaments (Group 1, Group 2, Group 3, etc).
Each departments has its own nomenclature/name structure therefore they have some table with different values/names, i will call it "Group Specific data".
Some data are equal for all the departament, i will call it "general data" (Users, employes, etc).
The data structure/tables relationship are the same for all departaments.

ATM Ive develop just one Database as a "Template" for all departaments.
My ideia is the following:
1. Make some copies of this "Template" - DB_Group 1 ; DB_Group 2; DB_Group 3;
2. Split the databases into FE and BE - DB_Group 1 FE and DB_Group 1 BE ; DB_Group 2 FE and DB_Group 2 BE ; DB_Group 3 FE and DB_Group 3 BE
3. Make a copy of one BE to store shared data - "General data BE"
4. Use the link manager to link the tables from DB_Group 1 FE, DB_Group 2 FE and DB_Group 3 FE which are for "general data" to the one "General data BE".

Ive the tables relationship and Structure attached

My questions are:

1. Am I going the wrong way here? or is there a easier/better way to solve this kind of problem?