UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reserved Error Issues, Access 2016    
 
   
EMDS98
post Sep 10 2019, 02:17 PM
Post#1



Posts: 18
Joined: 25-April 19



Good afternoon,

I am having a major issue frequently receiving Reserved Errors that are causing corruption (Chinese lettering) in my main table called "MRD". Every time this happens I need to kick out over 20 people using the Front End database called "MRT" so I can compact & repair and remove the corrupted data. This error seems to have been happening more often since more users started using the database. Below is a description of how I have this set up:

DataRepository - Holds all of the Master tables including the MRD table where the corruption is happening
MRT - Each user has their own copy which all of the tables are Linked to the DataRepository
AutomateCaseCreation - Automatically runs a few different Queries that Append and Update the new data to the MRD table in the DataRepository

I've had stretches where this doesn't happen at all but lately it seems to be happening more and more. Any help would be greatly appreciated. If you need more information, let me know.

Thank you



Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Sep 10 2019, 02:44 PM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 35,886
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


One frequent cause of this kind of corruption is network interruptions that occur during write operations to the back end database. And one of the frequent causes of network interruptions has been Wireless networks.


--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
EMDS98
post Sep 10 2019, 03:26 PM
Post#3



Posts: 18
Joined: 25-April 19



Thanks for the quick response. We are not using Wireless networks but do have lagging issues on our wired connections. Do you know of anything that can be done to fix or even reduce the frequency of these errors?
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Sep 10 2019, 04:55 PM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 35,886
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


I'd consider moving the back end to SQL Server (the Express edition is a free download). It's more tolerant of network problems, although it can introduce other complications.


--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 10 2019, 05:52 PM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,901
Joined: 30-June 11



If you have network issues then you need to look at why? Is it as simple as replacing the wires for newer, better quality (upgrade to Cat6e). Perhaps upgrading routers (maybe your current one with 100Mbps ports and you could put in place one with Gbps ports router...), ... this is where you need to speak to your IT specialist within your organization.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
EMDS98
post Sep 12 2019, 08:47 AM
Post#6



Posts: 18
Joined: 25-April 19



We are actually close to moving the backend database to a SQL server. I have IT looking into the lagging issues that our dept. is having. Also, I have notice that the record getting corrupted is always the highest number of data in the 2nd field which is RO# (1st is the autonumber field) of the table.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Sep 12 2019, 09:11 AM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 6,901
Joined: 30-June 11



If you have network issue then this is somewhat to be expected. On a stable network, Access normally run without issue, but when any interruptions occur, Access bombs and corrupts.

Give your IT guys a little time, but if they can't fix the underlying networking issues, then switching to SQL Server (Express) would be a good option.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2019 Microsoft MVP, UA VIP, EE Distinguished Expert 2018)
Professional Help: https://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: https://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
EMDS98
post Sep 12 2019, 10:11 AM
Post#8



Posts: 18
Joined: 25-April 19



Thanks Daniel and George, I really appreciate your feedback!
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    18th October 2019 - 11:29 PM